Skip to content

Seeking God Wholeheartedly

October 20, 2007

Psalms 119:10 (NET)

I seek you with all my heart, do not let me stray from your commands.

 

I don’t think people today understand how to do something wholeheartedly anymore.  There lacks a spirit of loyalty and dedication to the right causes.  God is not someone who is thought of by today’s world as someone to seek after with the dedication and energy that scripture teaches us.

When we truly seek God with our whole heart then we will see everything else in his perspective.  We will desire what he desires and we will desire to keep his commands.  We will still stray from him daily because we are so sinful, but if we are seeking him above anything else then we will seek repentance of our sin and change our ways. 

Proverbs 2:4,5, “If you seek it like silver, and search for it like hidden treasure, then you will understand how to fear the Lord,” (NET)

Solomon tells his son how to remain pure in Proverbs.  Seek God out as if you were searching for a hidden treasure.  If you really want the treasure, so you only look for it when you are in the mood?  No, it is on your mind. You want that treasure and you are ready to search as long as it takes until you find it.  You are passionate and searching wholeheartedly.

Many times a revival will begin in our own hearts when we truly begin to seek God out.  We fall in love with him all over again and can’t learn enough about him.  I have experienced this many times; I have a renewed hunger and thirst for my God.  I really enjoy watching others experience this.  Several people very close to me are currently in the midst of a spiritual awakening in their lives and it is fabulous to see.  I have prayed for them for years and it is awesome to see those prayers answered and to see the growth in their life.

A desire for purity will bring you into a spirit of seeking God with your whole being.  You will desire to keep God’s commands and seek his forgiveness when you stray from him.  You will better recognize things that are distracting you from God and be able to change. None of this is as easy to do as it is to write it out, but I know it is possible because I have lived it myself.  I have also experienced straying from God and the consequences of that also.  It is a choice and will become a habit and way of life over time.  I’m still in the choice phase working to making it a way of life.  But it is my desire and my prayer for God to give me a heart that runs after him.

What does it look like when one seeks God wholeheartedly?  What do you think of first when you wake in the morning?  Is it your to-do list or is it your Lord Jesus?  When you encounter a difficult situation do you turn to your friends for counsel first or do you turn to your Lord for guidance?  What consumes you in your day?  What is your time most spent on?  What does your family think is important to you?

If your answers to these questions all point back to you rather than your relationship with God or you family I would take inventory of your priorities and begin cleaning things out that don’t really matter in God’s eyes.  I have found myself on my knees in the middle of the night weeping as I have realized how far from God I was.  I wept as I asked forgiveness of the many sins as the Lord brought them to my mind.  I then praised him and thanked him for the forgiveness through his blood shed for me.  “Give me a heart that runs after you and is wrapped around you. I want to love you God with all my heart, mind and strength.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Britteney permalink
    August 5, 2010 11:02 pm

    I just have to say that this word was right on time for me. I have been truly struggling lately with wholeheartedly seeking God above all else. I notice that everything seems to get in the way and I feel farther from God than ever. I thank God for you writing this because it has touched my heart. This makes me really look in the mirror at myself to understand my priorities in life. Thank you. And please keep my journey to re-vamp my life for Christ in your prayers

    God Bless,
    Britteney

  2. yemi permalink
    February 22, 2011 1:24 am

    am really happy to read your write up.i am so far away from god ,always dwelling on my problems especially not being married at this age.but now i want to seek the face of god,to know who god is,and to really worship HIMwholehearthedlt will be my prayer point from today in JESUS name. GOD BLESS YOU.

  3. September 15, 2011 12:39 pm

    I really like this blog site. It really speaks to seeking God wholeheartedly.

  4. nicole jackson permalink
    May 31, 2012 12:48 am

    i really loved this article it touched my life to it also convicted me but i guess thats good…. i wanna grow closer to GOD

  5. Tee permalink
    October 26, 2012 5:18 am

    Thank you for sharing this, I have always wondered what it meant to seek God wholeheartedly.

Leave a comment