Skip to content

Encouragement to Single Moms

October 17, 2007

I can’t imagine the life of a single mom. I depend so greatly on my husband that the few times that he has been gone out of town I barely made it.  I have learned to expect his presence.  I know that if something happened to him & he was taken from us we would be o’k because my God’s strength is sufficient, but I don’t want to go there in my mind.  We moms who are married don’t think about our ministry to those moms who are not married.  But scripture talks often about the need to encourage and minister to the single moms & widows.  My husband has written an article encouraging the single moms, especially of boys.

Here is part of what he wrote;

I have been researching online, books on the fatherless, and the scriptures.  Everyone seems to come up with a cause, but only God’s word speaks of how to cope as a single mother.

To read the rest of his article go to One Dads Encouragement to Single Moms

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2007 1:04 pm

    Hi Dana! Single moms desperately need encouragement and support from brothers and sisters in Christ.

    I have been separated from my own hubby in the past for over 3 years. Over half of that he lived in a state half across the country. There were so many things I could NOT do. I needed muscle, mechanics, or specialization.

    Often I just needed encouragement to continue to walk in singleness and trust in the Lord for His timing. God is faithful! My sisters were my sanity and blessing. The Lord used them to help keep me from stumbling into sin.

    Blessings to you dear sister, Julianne

  2. January 20, 2008 6:35 pm

    Im a single mom at 18 years old. It is a very hard job. Im also attending college and working parttime. Im proud to say I’m doing a good job at being a single mom!

  3. January 21, 2008 1:20 pm

    Jenna,
    You are right, being a mom is a very hard job, especially when you have to do all of if yourself plus go to school & work. I know that your sweet little boy is the light in your eyes and he is the reason that you keep going as hard as you do. I was a mom at 19 yrs old and I remember how hard it was. Please also know that there is a God who thinks you are fabulous and wants you to know Him. The One True God is who gives us our strength. Without it we eventually get tired and are ready to give up.
    Press on Jenna. I pray that God becomes the light in your eyes.

  4. April 22, 2008 10:09 am

    I’m glad to see this post. As a former single mother of three for sixteen years, I can speak from experience-no matter the circumstances that put a mom in the position of single-head-of-household, it is extremely difficult. My passion for single moms remains even though I’m happily remarried for twelve years. For that reason I’ve established SMORE for Women, a Spiritual Ministry Offering Retreats and Encouragement for single moms. Please visit our sites. I’d love to hear from church leaders and moms everywhere.
    http://www.smoreforwomen.org and blog http://www.seeinguthrough.wordpress.com
    Gail Cawley Showalter

  5. Jesus_saves permalink
    April 22, 2008 1:36 pm

    I certainly agree Dana; a lot of single moms need encouragement in the word and practical support.
    1 John 3:18Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.

  6. August 24, 2008 11:51 pm

    this is an awesome site for single moms i have a great respect for these woman because they are both mom and dad for the childeren they have.i hope and pray for these awesome woman because they are the back bone of every house.GOD BLESS THEM

  7. Angie permalink
    September 17, 2010 2:21 pm

    God Bless all of the single moms. You are so awesome how you hold it together no matter what comes your way. Stand firm on that rock an don’t let anything knock you off.
    I am a single mother of two an it is a very hard job, but i know that God has my back, front,top, bottom an all the rest of me. There was a time where I tried to do it all by myself an I messed up everytime, but now that I am saved thing go so smoothly. I Thank God for never leaving me nor forsaking me… God Bless ALL that read this…. Job well done MOMS

  8. Heather permalink
    July 12, 2012 11:21 pm

    I am a single mother of 3. I had my first child at 19 and my last at 24. I have been through a lot in my life but one thing I know is that my children are my world. And even though their fathers are not in their lives. I have support from God and my family.
    I have spent a portion of my life trying to find a good man for me and my children but after all I have been thru I have learned to wait on God to send me my husband.
    I know that I am truely blessed to have what I have in life and that my children are too. And I am glad to know that I haven’t gone thru certain situation like other moms. I understand that everything happens for a reason and A the age of 33 I am finally learning from my past and from others as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

