Skip to content

Prayer Challenge Day 11: Praying for his Health

June 13, 2009

I am way behind again in posting on each chapter in our prayer challenge.  My week has been hectic and now we are out of town so I am using my parents computer to try & get caught up.  I hope that you are able to keep up with your reading & praying for your husband.  I have been so blessed by your comments and emails of what the Lord is showing you while you commit to pray for your husband everyday.  I know our husbands are blessed also!

If you are just now joining us in our 30 day challenge to pray for our husbands…GREAT! Welcome & I know you will be blessed.   You can also go to Dandelion Seeds where my friend Amy is blogging through this challenge also.  She started it & has some excellent thoughts on it.

Today’s post is on chapter 11, His Health

 Praise the LORD, O my soul,
       and forget not all his benefits-who forgives all your sins
       and heals all your diseases

Psalm 103:2,3

This chapter is focused on our husband’s health.  If you have a husband who does not have the greatest good health habits then I think we first must pray for him concerning this, but we also should live by example to them.

It is hard to convince my husband that he needs to cut down on soda when I drink them all day also.  I think that it is too easy to see how others should change and not see how we also can change.  Here are just a few things we can do ourselves that will hopefully help our husbands also.

  • Drink plenty of water.  Put the soda and artifically flavored drinks away and drink water instead.  It is amazing to me how many things I normally crave, I don’t crave when I am drinking lots of water.
  • Eat lot’s of raw fruit & veggies.  Offer fruit for breakfast in addition to what they normally eat.  Offer raw veggies through a salad or by themselves with the meal.  I am always surprised and what my husband will eat & enjoy when it is offered.
  • Take a walk & invite him to go with you.

When all else fails, pray.  NO!  In addition to praying, live by example. 

Concerning chronic illness and praying for healing; I have two friends in my church who have recently lost their husbands.  Both women are in their late 50’s and their husbands were early 60’s.   Both of these women lived with and cared for their husbands while they battled cancer.  It was a difficult rod to travel, but both of these women did it with such great faith.  They prayed that their husbands would be healed of the cancer, but they both knew that the healing could possible not be here on Earth, but be found in Heaven.  I know that they wanted to have at least 20 more years with their husbands, but I know these women and I know that they knew that God had a plan for their husband.  That plan is what they wanted and they trusted the Lord with that.

I don’t know the pain of watching my husband suffer from a chronic illness nor do I know the pain and agony of losing my husband to death.  I pray that I would be found faithful to my God if I had to experience this. 

I do pray that my husband would be strengthened physically so that he can continue to live an active and full life.  I pray that I can help him to eat the right foods by preparing them for him and I pray that I will live by example a life that is pleasing to the Lord.

Praise the Lord that we can find healing either here on earth of in Heaven.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

