Skip to content

Prayer Challenge Day 3; Praying for his finances

June 3, 2009

Today is day 3 of our 30 day challenge of praying for our husbands.  We are using the book, Power of a Praying Wife, and as I read in this book I can’t help but remember the first time I read the book and how the Lord has answered my prayers for my husband since then.  I praise the Lord daily for the work he has done in my husband and for the work he continues to do.  But I also cannot ignore the work that He has done in my own life since then. The Lord has his work cut out for Him and I’m so thankful that He is faithful in His work in my life.  As I commit to pray for my husband, I anticipate an even deeper change to occur in my own heart.

 

childphil413 Today, we are praying for our husband & his finances.  Just as in his work, so much of what is important to our men is based on the condition of his finances.  Their self worth is often based on this.  God gave gave them the desire to work & provide for their families.  Sadly, our society has placed so much importance on our material worth that Christians have been washed over by this & we blend right in with the world’s way of thinking and doing things.  I’m not saying it is wrong to have things, but I think we have been deceived by what is a want and what is a need.  There are many things that we often think we need, but in all reality, we could live with out.  These things are not crucial for our survival.

 

If your husband seems very driven by his finances, to the point you know that his desires are not of the Lord, pray for his heart to be drawn to the Lord.  Pray that his eyes will be open to the fact that his self worth is not in his money, but in his God. But DO NOT tell your husband what you think he should do with his money or changes you think he should make.  Be careful to not try and be your husband’s Holy Spirit.  If your husband is a believer, the Holy Spirit is perfectly capable of changing your husband’s heart & mind all by his self. 🙂

 

harvest_luke12_2931

One thing struck me as I was praying this morning was to ask the Lord what I can actively do to use our finances in a way that honors Him.

What am I doing now that is wasteful with our money?

What am I doing that shows my husband that I appreciate the money that he does make? 

Do I have a way to make money without compromising my current duties and responsibilities at home?

What am I teaching my children concerning our finances?  Do you always say, “We can’t afford that.” or do you tell them, “We choose not to use our money like that.”  There is a difference.  Let your children know that how we use our money is important and meant to be used to God’s glory. No matter how much money we have or don’t have, we try to impress on our children that it is a gift from God and to be used with great care.

As you pray for your husband, be open to the prompting of the Holy Spirit as to how you can change your ways also.  If your husband is careless with the finances, be on guard against becoming bitter towards him.  That can deeply injure your relationship with him.  Just pray for him & let the Lord take care of the rest.  He created the world in 6 days, He can accomplish a great work in your husband.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 7:01 pm

    Wonderful insights shared from your reading… thanks for adding & sharing this journey! I too am blogging my way through.
    ~Hugs, HL

    • June 5, 2009 8:30 am

      Thanks! I look forward to checking our your blog.

  2. June 4, 2009 1:43 pm

    I was praying about my husband’s job today, and the Lord gave me some specific answers to questions my husband has been asking. It was really great to hear so clearly from the Lord.

    I sent him an email with encouraging words. I think they will really help him. I told him that his career is really important to me. It affects me big-time.

    I was excited that God talked to me so clearly and gave me something I could do to encourage my husband today.

    Thanks for the reminders and articles, Dana.

    • June 5, 2009 8:30 am

      Penney,
      What a blessing it is when we hear so clearly from the Lord. I am so encouraged by you! Thank you dear friend.

Leave a Reply

