Skip to content

Are You a Praying Wife?

June 1, 2009

 

praying_in_the_spirit[1] How often do you pray for your husband? 

I am ashamed to admit that I do not pray for my husband enough.  He should be at the top of my list everyday.  He is my husband, next to God he is the most important person in my life.

My friend Amy on Facebook has challenged all of us to pray for our husbands for 30 days in a row using Stormie Omartian’s book, The Power of a Praying Wife.  I have accepted her challenge & encourage you to do the same.  It starts today, June 1st.  But even if you do not read this post until after that date, you can start your own 30 days anytime.

The challenge is very simple.  You will need the book, The Power of a Praying Wife

powerorpryingwife

This is what Amy writes to us about this challenge…

WHAT YOU’LL DO: Read a chapter a day FOR 30 DAYS, which includes a prayer. (Even if you’ve read this book before, you can just do the prayers and skip the reading… the point is for you to PRAY!)
FYI: Daily reminders to pray for your husband will be sent out through facebook messages to you. You don’t have to discuss anything (and no “spouse bashing” will be allowed) but can share if you’d like on the wall. You can also leave links to your blog posts if you make any as well. Please spread the word to others!
THE POINT: To get wives praying for their husbands… that’s it! Doesn’t matter what the background, denomination, or current state your life is in… Let’s get those hubbies covered in prayer and stand back and expect great things to happen to them, our marriages, and even ourselves as we petition God on their behalf!
(And might I add, that if things are really bad, that this is a great time to do this! When my marriage was falling apart and my husband and I were ready to divorce, I came across this book, and it not only changed my marriage… but it changed me as well!)

If you are going to participate, let me know.  I am hoping to post daily concerning this topic.  It has been a long time since I was able to blog & I’m a little out of practice, but if all goes well you should get updates from me daily if you subscribe.

 

Let the praying begin!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2009 7:41 am

    I’m doing this, too. I feel something good coming from all of us wives praying for our husbands in concert like this.

    Love,
    Penney

    • June 2, 2009 8:00 am

      A concert! I love that. Women across the nation lifting up their husbands in prayer. What a glorious concert to our God!

  2. Alexandria deRossi-Davis permalink
    June 13, 2009 1:42 am

    Greetings!

    I came across this page by way of a search engine as I was wondering if it were too late to participate? Please advise

    • June 13, 2009 9:44 am

      It is not too late to participate. If you like, just start where we are & then you can go back through the beginning chapters after we finish the book. I am a bit behind in my blog posts because we are out of town, but I am trying to get caught up. Thanks for you comment.

  3. Esther permalink
    June 24, 2011 7:32 am

    i am yet to get the book, hopefully by the month end. Meanwhile I strongly believe in this and do hope to join as soon as possible. Will appreciate any updates going forward.

    Thanks

    Esther

Leave a Reply

