Skip to content

He will quiet you…

October 19, 2008

As a mom, I often yearn for quiet.  I don’t want to talk to anyone, I don’t want to tell someone to do their chores, I don’t want to listen to another story, I don’t want to answer the phone, I just want some quiet.

I love this verse in Zephaniah 3:17.

He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.

We mothers give so much of ourselves & the precious reminder that our God takes great delight in us, and will rejoice over us & quiets us with his love…how beautiful that is.

It makes me want to just sit & meditate on his promises.  That is where my strength & joy comes from.  The beauty of His creation brings me great peace, yet energizes me.  Here are some more promises that bring me to a place of peace & rest.

Psalm 139:5, “You hem me in, behind & before; you have laid your hand upon me.

Habakkuk 3:19, “The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.”

Psalm 7:10, “My shield is God Most High (El Elyon), who saves the upright in heart.”

Psalm 16:8, “I have set the LORD always before me.  Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”

 

Below is a video that I just had to share with you.  The music is performed by teh orchestra at my church, Stonebriar Community Church.  The man who plays the Irish Whistle is the husband of a friend of mine.  This is a very beautiful piece & is great to close your eyes & meditate on the goodness of God as you listen to the music.  I hope that you while you listen to this, you will close your eyes & imagine yourself at the feet of Jesus.  Lay your cares & worries at his feet.  Thank him for his goodness & mercy in your life & repent of your sins.  Let him quiet you with his love.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2008 10:15 pm

    Beautiful!

  2. Mary Ann permalink
    October 20, 2008 4:13 am

    I enjoyed this music and even though my children are long grown life is so busy i’d like it to be more quiet. God bless your ministry and your heart that’s in it always.

  3. October 20, 2008 9:27 pm

    Dana. Sometimes I think the Lord has you writing this blog to me. Thank you for the encouragement and the song.

  4. October 20, 2008 10:33 pm

    Thank you very much! These are very busy & often loud days for me & my desire for quiet keeps me at the feet of my Lord.

Leave a Reply

