Skip to content

Been gone for a while…sorry.

August 21, 2008

For those who check here often, I’m sure you noticed that I’ve not posted in quite a while.  My life has taken a very big turn in a new direction & I just haven’t had time to post recently.

I am the new  Coordinator of Mom2Mom at my church, Stonebriar Community Church in Frisco TX.  It is such a great honor & privledge for me to be trusted with this position.  I am the youngest Coordinator they have ever had.  In the past the ministry was lead by mothers who had already raised their children and were now mentoring young moms.  I am not in that season yet.  Though I do occasionally meet with moms to counsel, I do not consider myself a mentor. 

This job fits so well into my passion to minister to moms & the Lord has been preparing me for this for many years.  When I was asked I knew immediately that the Lord’s timing for me to lead was here.  I didn’t know how I would do it, I didn’t know how I would manage my home & my family.  But I knew that the Lord wanted me involved in his work in Mom2Mom & I couldn’t say no.

So, this summer I have been very busy finding speakers, creating schedules, recruiting leadership, praying, praying, praying, studying to teach Bible study, going to meetings, praying, emailing, praying, creating fun handouts, building a website, praying, and did I mention that I have been praying about Mom2Mom?   This is a huge burden, but the Lord is carrying it for me. At times when I am feeling tired from balancing my various roles His Spirit gently reminds me to cast my burden on him and let him work through me, not inspite of me.  

So if you think about me, would you remember me in your prayers.  Would you ask the Lord to help me to remember that Mom2Mom is all about him and what he wants to do through the leadership in the lives of the moms who attend.  Would you ask that I make the time to study the Word and prepare for the lectures I will teach?  Could you pray that I would be hearlthy & not get sick?  Would you remember my famiy also as they step in and take over various areas of the home while I am in Mom2Mom mode.  Could you pray that my mind would stay focused on the talk at hand, letting the Lord use me to minister to moms.  With out my God I am nothing.  There is nothing good about me, any good that you see in me is all Him.  Could you remember the moms of Mom2Mom that any who join who do not know the Lord as her Lord & Savior would know him by the end or the year?

 

I know this is a lot to ask, but as the Spirit reminds you, I would appreciate your prayers.

 

1 Corinthians 2:5, Your faith should not be in teh wisdom of men but in the power of God.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    August 23, 2008 2:50 pm

    Just decided to pop in and check on you. Sounds like you are too busy these days. The kids and the husband is enough without doing much more. I pray you are refreshed soon. Don’t forget to rest now and then and dance!

    Sandy

  2. koen permalink
    September 27, 2008 3:13 pm

    Dear Dana,
    I just read this post and I wanted to encourage you. I honestly dont know how you do all that is on your plate. I know what it is like having the responsibilities of a large family, even though they do help out, and schooling them! (that is an enormous amount of my time, and i can never seem to keep up with the paper stuff). I love writing and really dont have the time to put in it to make it say what i want to say exactly the way i would like. I do good just to get it written. I teach Bible studies to young ladies periodically and do have a heart for young moms as well, so i can relate to that with you, although i am still prime for learning myself. I am burdened that more elder ladies arent stepping up to the role of 1 Peter largely because they dont feel they have anything to offer or because they feel ‘this is their time’. I am very computer illiterate and am impressed with your ability to maintain several sites, manage home and write and teach, and be wife and mother. I am not teaching ladies right now but often counsel. I am grieved at the young Christian marriages that are struggling. We are in the beginning of a church plant so I am teaching children on a bi-weekly rotation.

    God will always give us the strength, vision and endurance when we are in His will. I just wanted to encourage you with 2 verses that i love and have often ministered to me.
    Isaiah 26:3- He will keep in perfect peace , him whose heart is steadfast because he trust in the Lord. Trust in the Lord.
    I also love 1 Corinthians 1:28-31 that says “He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things-and the things that are not-to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him. It is because of Him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God- that is our righteousness, holiness and redemption. Therefore as it is written, let him who boast boast in the Lord.
    This verse is a great reminder to me that He can use me (one of the lowly things, I have nothing to boast about) and that He is all I need!
    I have used the verse on my website http://www.thedrippingpath.com , as my theme verse. this site is not much right now, it is a long story why it didnt work out but i am going to try to get it going again – with some help. i had to change to a google group which i post devotions when i have time to type, for a small group of ladies.

    I will pray for you as the Lord leads and this new ministry. I can sense from your writings what a blessing you will be to moms because of your transparent honesty and focus on the Lord. He will honor that.

    Sincerely
    koen

Leave a Reply

