Skip to content

Teenagers ~ Welcoming Them Home

July 22, 2008

Yesterday I wrote a post about my son and how God is showing me that I need to let go of him so that God can truly work in his life.

This morning in my quiet time my devotional took me back to that scripture with a focus on when the son returned home.  I had just been praying for my son, before I opened my devotional book. This was a wonderful, confirming word to me from the Lord that not only will my son return to the Lord, but when he does it will be a great celebration & I better be celebrating too or I will miss out on a wonderful blessing.

Luke 15:17-20 says, “When he came to his senses he said, ‘How many of my fathers hired men have food to spare, and here I am starving to death!  I will set out and go back to my father and say to him; Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son so make me one of your hired men.’ So he got up and went to his father.  But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.”

That is the best part of the story right there.  The son expected to be punished and put with the hired men, but rather the Father threw a party for him.  I’m so ready to throw a party for my son because he has come to his senses.  Notice that the father doesn’t take the son aside and say, Son, we must have a talk.  What you did was very wrong. Blah Blah Blah.”  The Father knew the son knew he was wrong by his repentance.  No other reprimands were needed.

This is how Jesus takes us back when we have sinned and walked away from him.  He welcomes us back with open arms and a forgiving heart and this is how we should welcome our children also.

Colossians 3:13, Forgive as the Lord forgave you.

Lord, I praise you & thank you for your redeeming promises from your Word. I love because you first loved me and I forgive because you first forgave me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2008 8:57 am

    Dana,

    I agree wholeheartedly that we should try to parent the way God parents us. I see so many parents trying to control their kids, but God doesn’t do that with us. He gives us free will and choice and then encourages us to make good choices. He doesn’t spank us every time we do something wrong. The Holy Spirit convicts us, but we don’t feel pain right away until those natural consequences come along.

    I believe that we have a lot to learn about love and freedom and God’s ways. I think parents who try to control their kids are doing it out of fear and lack of trust in God. Their children often walk away from them and from God. But when we put them in God’s hands and pray for them, God can do the necessary work to turn their hearts to Him. We need to stay out of the way unless God tells us to step in.

    Thank you for sharing about what must be a very difficult, heart-breaking subject for you. I appreciate your openness. May we all learn to parent by the Spirit instead of by our own understanding.

    Love,
    Penney

  2. July 24, 2008 8:10 am

    The prodical son was accepted with loving open arms.

    The older son was full of pride and self reliance ” Lo, these many years do I serve thee, neither transgressed I at any time ” A picture of all those who try to get to heaven by by their own righteousness (as you mentioned in your comment on my blog–just like the world) Wise words!

    I can worry myself sick over my children making mistakes but then I remember the my mistake God used to prepare me to work for Him. Keep trusting God.
    Blessings.
    Robin

  3. Anna permalink
    August 3, 2008 5:58 pm

    Dear Dana,
    I find comfort in knowing that all we have to do is love. Unconditionally and pray and do God’s Will—Always.
    2Samuel 9:1 ” And David said, Is there anyone left of the house of Saul to whom I may show kindness for Jonathan’s sake.”
    David and Jonathan had a covanant relatonship even though Jonathan was dead, David was now king and he wanted to bless any of his relatives that were still remaining. You have a covenant with God through Jesus Christ and if you live your life right, God will bless your kids…I said God will bless your kids. 400 hundred years after David was dead there was still somebody in his blood line sitting on the throne because God promised him that. Many of his relatives got mercy and the bible says “For the sake of David and the covenant I made with him, I will give you mercy.” I believe if you serve God and you are praying for your family God will show some of them mercy just because of you.
    Dana, When I read what you wrote I immediately remembered this segment that I heard from Joyce Meyer and felt I must share this with you hoping it may comfort and excite you as it did for me….
    It was from a TV segment called “Your Image and Your Future”
    Love, Anna

Leave a Reply

