Skip to content

Is Your Heart Steadfast?

July 1, 2008

 

David wrote:

My heart is steadfast, O God; I will sing and make music with all my soul.

 

This word steadfast is to me a very spiritual word.  We don’t use it in our everyday conversations. What does it really mean and can my heart be described as steadfast?

First it means to be immovable, firmly fixed in place(Merriam Webster Collegiate Dict, 11th Ed)  Some more meanings from the Hebrew word is prepared, established, appointed and formed or developed.

A person who is steadfast is not a wishy washy, undecided, has no idea what they doing, kind of person.  They are confident in what they know and believe and they know why they believe it.  If you are having heart surgery, you want a doctor who is steadfast in his knowledge of the heart and what your heart needs in order to work properly.

In this verse, heart, could also be stated as the mind  The Hebrew meaning here is, inner man, mind, will, heart.  Is your mind steadfast?  Another reference also says,

the source of life of the inner person in various aspects, with a focus on feelings, thoughts, volition, and other areas of the inner life *

In what is our heart to be steadfast?  Well, David was worshiping God for the great victories over their enemies.  David had seen first hand the power of God.  He was confident in the ability of God to overcome.  David had felt the love and mercy of God in the forgiveness of his sins.  His knowledge and understanding of God was immovable and firmly fixed in place.  No one could convince him that God was a fraud.  David was free to worship God with all his soul and glory because of his steadfast heart.

If we have doubts about God.  If we are not fully trusting him this limits our worship.  We are not free to praise him for all that He is.  If we still think we can handle a particular situation better than he can, this limits our worship.  It is not until we are fully and wholly surrendered to God can our heart, mind and spirit worship God the way He says to worship.

Also, when our heart is steadfast, we are prepared when adversity comes.  We know that it is part of the life of a believer.  But we know that the refining of our soul is necessary so that God can create in us a pure heart.  We are confidant in our understanding that God gives us the strength we need.

We live in a day and time where if your heart is not steadfast, you will become confused by the false teachings that surround us.  Each day we live brings us closer to the day when our Savior returns in the clouds to take us home.  But in those last days, there will be many who will try to convince you of alternative ways to Christ.  Be steadfast in your knowledge that there is ONLY ONE WAY!  Through Jesus Christ. 

Jesus answered, I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.  John 14:6

God is steadfast in his love and devotion to his children.  Why should we not be steadfast in our love and devotion to him.  I once had a very wise woman tell me when I said to her that I was trying to trust in God to handle a particular circumstance, “Why shouldn’t you trust him?  What has he ever done to you that he didn’t promise to do? ”  Her words have stayed with me.  My God has never let me down.  He has never promised me something, but never followed through.  He is steadfast.

I pray that you will examine your heart and ask God to show you where that you are not steadfast.  He is constantly showing me ways in which I am not steadfast in my faith and love.  I am a constant work in progress as we all are.

 

O Holy God, I ask that you will examine my heart and show me where I am not steadfast in you.  You are my Elohim and my El Shaddai and in you are all good things. I long to worship you with all my soul and mind.  A~Men.

 

*(Swanson, James: Dictionary of Biblical Languages With Semantic Domains : Hebrew (Old Testament). )

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

