Skip to content

Is the Other Side Winning?

May 24, 2008

tornado

When we look around at all of the tradegy and destruction that is happening to our world today, you may wonder where God is in all of this? There have been several catastophic natural disasters that have wiped out whole villages of people.  There was a tornado in Colorado this week!  I have never heard of a tornado in Colorado before.  While it destroyed many homes, it only claimed one life.  But that one life was precious.

greys anatomy

The depravity(sin) of our society is an acceptable way to live.  Most Christians think nothing about watching a TV show where gay couples are the norm or where teenagers or neighbors are expected to sleep around.  That is just what they do now days.  We have become desensitized to sin.  We don’t even see it as sin anymore, just a sign of the times.  If Jesus is the same yesterday, today & tomorrow then so is sin.  What was sin 2,000 years ago is still sin today.

Be careful, accepting the ways of the world as your own.  James 4:4 tells us why this is dangerous.

“You’re cheating on God. If all you want is your own way, flirting with the world every chance you get, you end up enemies of God and his way. And do you suppose God doesn’t care? The proverb has it that “he’s a fiercely jealous lover.” And what he gives in love is far better than anything else you’ll find. It’s common knowledge that “God goes against the willful proud; God gives grace to the willing humble.”

Also 1 John 2:15.

Don’t love the world’s ways. Don’t love the world’s goods. Love of the world squeezes out love for the Father. Practically everything that goes on in the world—wanting your own way, wanting everything for yourself, wanting to appear important—has nothing to do with the Father. It just isolates you from him. The world and all its wanting, wanting, wanting is on the way out—but whoever does what God wants is set for eternity.

As Believers we have to live in this world but scripture tells us not to be of this world.  But, we are constantly swimming upstream.  It seems that Satan is winning.  He seems to be everywhere and in everything…even the church.  Many of our churches are even beginning to look more and more like the world in the way they function.  I think we became so concerned with blending in so to attract the unbeliever that the unbeliever can’t tell the difference anymore between a Godly place of worship and a rock concert or political rally.

Does it seem to you that the other side is winning?

Ah, Beloved let me tell you that things are not as they seem.

1 John 4:4

You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.

Do you understand that no matter how bad our world seems to be.  No matter what circumstance you are in, your God is greater than the one who is in the world(Satan).  The one who is responsible for all of the destruction of the morals and values in our society is not greater than God.  He has already overcome.  That happened when His son, Jesus Christ, died on the cross.

John 16:33 said,

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.

OK, this is what is important to remember, we, fleshly, sinful human beings have not overcome & we will not overcome.  We are of the world, we cannot overcome the sin of this world.   We cannot stand against the temptations that are hurled against us everyday.  We are depraved, sinful and weak.  But, yet we still try.  And when our child makes a good decision or becomes a successful adult or impresses others by reciting the book of Leviticus we stand proud of ourselves as good parents.

Mom, anything good that happens in this world, in your family, in your life, has NOTHING to do with you!  You have not overcome this world.  It is the God who dwells within you who is responsible for any good that comes from you.  That is what 1 John 4:4 is telling us, it is the One who is in you who is greater than the one who is in the world.  He definitely wants to use us to bring good to our world, but it isn’t because you are so special or well educated that he will use you.  It is when you recognize your level of depravity and weakness that he will use you.

If we are to stand against the evil one of this world we MUST know in our mind that our God is greater than any evil that you will encounter.  You must not just believe that he is God, but live as though you believe it!  We will not live in fear of what this world will come to if we are standing on the Truth of God’s Word that says that HE will overcome, the one who is in us!

Faith and fear cannot co-exist in one’s heart and mind. You must choose which one will master you.  If it is master of you, it is master of your home.  What is your child’s view of this world?  I guarantee it is your view also.  Plant deeply in the heart of your child the truth that God has overcome this world.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2008 9:30 pm

    Hi Dana,

    I was just pondering these things the other day. Amy Grant has a line in one of her songs that says, “If there’s anything good that happens in life, it’s from Jesus.” I was thinking about how I tend to want to take credit for things, so many things that I may have had some small part in, but other things that I have no reason to really believe that I influenced the situation at all. I catch myself having these prideful thoughts, and I get so sick of myself, I can’t stand it! It’s really all about Jesus. He’s the only One that’s good.

    And you’re also right about being convinced that Jesus is stronger than satan and that He has overcome the world. I had a dream once in which an evil man was coming toward me to kill me after killing others. I started saying, “Jesus is stronger than satan” over and over again. He kept coming and I kept thinking I better really believe that or this guy’s going to kill me. It seemed like he believed what he believed stronger than I believed what I did. It was very sobering when I woke up. I’ve been asking the Lord to help me to really believe that He is all-powerful and way stronger than satan. I think it’s getting stronger in my mind.

    Thanks for such a thought-provoking article.

    Love,
    Penney

  2. Jesus_saves permalink
    June 3, 2008 9:52 am

    I definitely relate to this article, especially about flirting with the world. As a christian I must accept that Jesus has done a new thing in my life, I have been transformed, therefore my old habits (before I came to know Jesus) can nolonger keep me in bondage.
    But every now and again I slip, recently I was talking to a friend on the phone, and I didnt want to bore her ears off with my faith (which I have done on previous occasions) and eventually succummed to idle chat and gossip to please her, but I realise that I cannot continue to participate in that mind frame and without being plagued by guilt and shame. I briefly ended the call and repented.
    I really dont want to go back into the worlds standards living. And even if I have to sacrifice some of my old buddies, I know that Jesus’ will for my life is to be His representative and to love, and to please Him.

  3. June 29, 2009 2:51 pm

    Wow, Dana, Wow, this has REALLY been on my heart and mind lately. All kinds of different questions being thrown at me that I’ve never thought of before. It seems that in today’s Christian culture, we have thrown away reverence in the name of being relevant. Hurts my heart.

    But as you mentioned, God is greater than all of this, and HE has and will overcome. No matter what we try to do or we think we’re doing right, His plan will not be thwarted. What an encouragement for this soul who longs to please Him and minister to others in the process. The One who calls us is faithful, and HE Will do it. (1 Thess. 5:24)

Leave a Reply

