Skip to content

Feeling Trapped by Life!

April 27, 2008

As a mom, I have very easily found myself feeling trapped.  I feel like I am on a merry go round that is spinning and I can’t get off.  Life is not going well.  In fact, it is down right NOT FAIR! 

  • Kids keep getting sick (with 10 kids a 24 hour bug can last a month!)
  • Husband is working late hours
  • I’m behind in housework so the house is a disaster
  • I keep burning dinner
  • My friends seem to have a life better than mine (seem is the key word here)

These are just a few of the things that seem to set me off.  I get where little things that happen seem really big & almost impossible to deal with.  There were days when just getting out of bed seemed to be a huge task.  I felt that I was drowning in life, swimming up stream, rowing without a paddle…how ever you want to put it.  I felt trapped & couldn’t seem to figure out how to get out of it.  I didn’t like myself so I couldn’t imagine how my family felt about me.

Then I remember…go to His Word.  It is alive and healing.  I read…

 

Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  1 Thessalonians 5:18

Then my conversation with God begins.

God, I know that you ask me to give thanks, but honestly I can’t think of anything to give thanks for.  The washer broke today and I was already behind on laundry.  I dropped the last jug of milk and spilled it all and we don’t get paid for 3 more days so now we are out of milk.  The AC won’t work in the car, my kids won’t obey, the phone won’t quite ringing, the newsletter  still isn’t ready to send out, my friends don’t even call me anymore.  Tell me; what is there to be thankful for?

And in God’s gracious and gentle way He begins to remind me.

  1. Husband
  2. Children
  3. Godly friends who pray rather than call me
  4. Church where I hear God’ Word taught
  5. house
  6. car
  7. electricity
  8. food
  9. music
  10. His creation to enjoy

I get it God.  It isn’t about me, it is about you.

 

I feel trapped by the bad in my life when my eyes are focused on me.  When I am thinking so much about what in my life is happening that I don’t like I begin to feel trapped and this can easily become depression.

In Genesis 8 we find Noah and his family getting off the ark for the first time after  more than 150 days.  When they got off what did they do?  Did they start cooking their first meal on land?  No, Noah gave thanks.  He thanked God for taking care of them.  He knew how to put first things first.

Today, I see Christians who come out of difficult circumstances still asking God why it had to happen rather than thanking God for bringing them through.

When Noah gave thanks it was a “pleasing aroma” to God.  It was then that He promised to never flood the earth again.

Our thankful heart and praise is a pleasing aroma to God.  It is how we keep from feeling trapped by life.  I’m sure that Noah & his family definitley felt trapped on that ark, but Noah was a righteous man by God’s standards, not man’s and inspite of his difficult circumstances he praised and worshipped his LORD, Yahweh.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2008 8:21 pm

    Ahhhhh….very timely post. Thank you. No really…I give thanks for you and your transparency!

  2. April 27, 2008 10:22 pm

    Thanks Alisa! I cannot write on this blog only of my successes. My sin is so frequent, that my knees are worn out from asking for forgiveness. I often feel like Paul when he said, “for what I want to do, I do not do, but what I hate to do…I know that nothing good lives in me, that is in my sinful nature. I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.” (Romans 7:15-18 ) Paul knew, what I am learning, that if I ever do what it is right it is because of God’s righteousness and grace, not because I am finally good.

  3. April 27, 2008 10:51 pm

    i feel that way sometimes… also helps to remember those with things worse off…

  4. May 1, 2008 10:32 am

    Hi Dana,

    The thing you said about Christians coming out of bad circumstances asking “why?” was true for my husband. I was thankful that we made it through alive, but he had to know WHY. God has been showing me why, but my husband has had a harder time seeing it. I think he’s starting to get it now. He’s still working on the proposal to try to get a promotion and raise at work, and he’s learning to give it all to God and trust Him with the results, but he’s learning it very slowly. He has been stressing out big time. I think it’s starting to sink in that God sees our trust in Him by our ability to rest in Him during the difficult times. Please pray for him. His name is Gary. He is in constant warfare the whole time he’s at work, so we pray for him all day long.

    Be blessed today!

    Love,

    Penney

  5. Anna permalink
    May 3, 2008 7:09 pm

    Hi everyone,
    Seems We are ALL going through rough times….. I think that while we are going through this rough time….let’s be thankful because God is a merciful and gracious God!!!!We love God and trust in him. Our faith grows …. and in the end after all this trouble has passed….We will look back and ….I believe, No!! I know God is setting us up to be in a much better positiion then we are in now…..Then we all can give thanks, praise and glory and be a testimony to our families and friends so that they will believe and see that when you totally trust in God’s will ..all things are possible….remember…. if God is for us who can be against us!!!!!!!!!!! What is impossible for us, it is possible for God…. So in our darkest hour we must speak light and rejoice for God will see us through!!!!!!!!!!!!!El Shaddai is our source!!!!!!God Bless you all,
    Anna

  6. May 16, 2008 11:30 am

    Dear Dana. First I would like to thank you for your helpful comments on my new blogsite. Secondly, I wanted to comment on this blog. My first experience with depression happened after the miscarriage of my first (and as of yet) only pregnancy. I have been married almost 9 months, and my husband and I were really looking forward to this baby. My body’s lack of healing also made it difficult to recover emotionally. But one of the things that my boss at my Christian school told me was that in a marriage it is especially important for each individual to take responsibility for their own relationship with God–for spending time with Him and spending time in prayer. The only way I was able to finally recover was due to early morning sessions with devotions and prayer. It also helped to write blessings in thanks on small pieces of paper each morning to put in a “blessing jar.” It helped remind me of everything that God had already given me. I haven’t given up hope on the dream of being a mom, but now I am contented in whatever state God has placed me.

  7. May 16, 2008 6:53 pm

    What a fantastic testimony! Thank you so much for sharing that. Learning to be content in the midst of difficult circumstances is difficult, but the sweetest place to be. It means that Jesus completely satisfies your every longing. I pray that the Lord will give you the desires of your heart…motherhood.
    Blessings!
    Dana

  8. Janet permalink
    July 21, 2008 1:24 pm

    I’m not there yet. Actually, I think I am depressed. It’s not that I can’t think of all the good things God has done for me, or that I don’t thank him for them. I don’t feel alive. Just a functioning vessle at his disposal, but not there myself. Just tired.

  9. July 22, 2008 7:22 am

    I understand what you are saying. I have been there more times than I would like to admit. When I am there, I have learned to read my scriptures out loud so that my mind can actually hear my mouth saying His Promises. I try to focus on the blessings, not my failures. I write down all that I am thinking and feeling like a journal and I write my prayers. This is not a secret formula for fighting depression. but the enemy doesn’t have as strong a hold on my thoughts if they are on the Lord & not on myself.
    I am praying for you Janet. Even King David found himself in an emotional pit at times wanting out. Praying that you let Jesus take you out of the pit, because it is not in our power to do so.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

