Skip to content

Oprah’s New Purpose

April 5, 2008

If you get email, then I bet that you have recieved at least 3 emails from somebody about Oprah’s new church.  I didn’t think much about it until I got 5 emails in one day, then I decided to look into it & see what all the hoopla was.  I don’t watch Oprah anymore, so I didn’t know what the big deal was.  I thought maybe she had given a lot of money to something…it wasn’t me, I knew that.

I stopped watching her several years ago when I noticed a tone in her shows that didn’t set well with my spirit.  I couldn’t really put my finger on it, but I just knew that I didn’t agree with her “philosophy on life”.  She would talk about reading the Bible or about believing in God, but it wasn’t the Bible I read or the God that I believed in.  I noticed that she began to make the Bible and God fit into her lifestyle.  She made it say what she wanted it to say, not what it really said.  She seemed to be all about doing what made her feel good.

Here is a video that has circulated quite a bit through emails, so you may have already seen it.  Turn the music down in the sidebar before you click the video.

 

 

This is what is sad to me.  This woman has so much influence among the women (and some men) of America; not just women, but Christian women!  These women who have watched her show fatihfully for years have gradually become caught up into her way of thinking.  I watched some of ther “class” that is beign done each Monday night through her website.  She and Tolle are going through his book, “A New Earth” as a discipleship class.  They open it up for “skype” callers.  I watched as two mom called in and said that they had grown up in christian families but were confused by some things.  Her response to them was, you have been deceived, you need to follow your heart and you will find your peace.  That is not a direct quote, but a summarization of a really long show.  These moms read the book, and recognized things that didn’t set right within them and instead of saying, “This is not what the Bible says.” they instead said, “Oprah, what do you think I should think?”

She quoted Tolle from his book saying, “Man made God in his own image.”  What?  You have got to be kidding, so is Genesis just a fable?  I know that there are some cult religions who think so, but she says that she is a Christian.  Only God can know if she is, but I’m leaning towards NO.  She has already said several times that she believes that there are many ways to get to Heaven.  “Jesus can’t be the only way.”she says.

Tolle says that God is really our consciousness, not a person. He thinks that there is no death, he islife, he can’t lose his life, because that is who he is.  What???  So Oprah explains by says that God is a feeling experience, not a believing experience.  Can we pray for her now???  She is so dismayed & deceived & now she is decieving millions of others.

Here is a video on a book that i have not read, but I would like to get it called, “Don’t drink the Kool-Aid”  Watch it here & see what you think.

 

Here is a really good radio broad cast from saveus.org.  Scroll down the page to the March 4th broadcast called, “The Emerging Consciousness”.  Charles Crisimier has some very real truths concerning what all of this could mean.

 

Scripture tells us to guard our heart, to be aware of false prophets and most importantly than any other; to love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul and strength.  If you are walking closely with your Lord and Savior, then you should be able to identify falsehood when it stands before you.  Put on the Armor of God daily, because the devil is at work among us.  But we are also reminded that even though the enemy comes to try and destroy us, Christ has come and we will have victory over the enemy.

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2008 3:43 pm

    My prayer is every Christian woman in America and around the world will turn Oprah OFF! Let’s do a big public internet campaign for this!
    I also am praying for Oprah, who is horribly deceived. She will be held highly accountable for what she is teaching to so many. May God have mercy on her…but close her mouth!

    I appreciate your blog, Dana!
    Alisa

  2. April 5, 2008 6:58 pm

    Thanks for helping the spread of Oprah’s false teaching!

    http://thehomeschoolway.blogspot.com

  3. Anna permalink
    April 11, 2008 5:44 pm

    I tried to watch those vidoes you suggested but could only stomach just a bit. What she is doing is unbelieveable. May God show her the error of her ways before it is too late for her. I felt along time ago that there was something just not right about her. I am greatful that I listened and quit watching years ago. Dana thanks for all guidance and inspiration!!!!!
    Anna

  4. April 11, 2008 10:44 pm

    Anna, I felt the same way about watching the video. When I went to her site & watched some of her “classes” I had to turn it off. Tolle creeped me out…there is something really strange & not right about him & his eyes have a strange stare to them…very deceptive.

    We must stay in the Word…then we will recognize lies when we hear them!!

  5. April 14, 2008 6:27 pm

    My husband and I watched the clips and were very disturbed. We had already decided against Obama because he is not a Conservative, ProLife Christian but these clips make me truly afraid of what would happen if he were to go in as president. We need to Pray without Ceasing for God’s hand of mercy on our Country.
    Blessings,
    Trixi
    homesteadblogger.com/spencerschool

  6. josanna permalink
    April 15, 2008 10:28 am

    I felt something wrong with oprah a long time ago as some others she was always right . the answers she gave when she did have a real beliver on her answers were all wrong and you could tell she was way off base. It is sad that a person thinks that money will buy your way to heaven with good works. so sad

  7. April 18, 2008 5:05 pm

    Woe that is scary and very sad, at least we know now that the end is truley here the only thing we can really do is let everyone know what the book of prophocy tells us is coming next. That is the only way people might have a chance of believing the word says that there will be a covering over the eyes of those who choose not to beleive and it will be as though they can’t see. I always here people say that they can’t understand the bible its because you havn’t asked Jesus to come in to your heart.

  8. Jesus_saves permalink
    April 19, 2008 9:14 am

    The need for so many people to remain in the grey and please the world, is the reason behind the false marketing of truth. Oprah may even know what the bible says but she fears losing her public life.
    Jesus foresaw all this:
    Mark 8:34Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 35For whoever wants to save his life[a] will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it. 36What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul? 37Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul? 38If anyone is ashamed of me and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.”

  9. April 19, 2008 10:18 am

    You have hit the nail on the head with your comment! That is why we have so many “casual christians”. They want the security in knowing that they will go to Heaven, but are not willing to give up of themselves to truly follow Christ. Oprah does know what the Bible says, she is not willing to die to self. She has a huge opportunity to share the love of Jesus with millions of people, yet because she is so mislead, she is leading many astray. But, we can’t blame her totally…they never truly knew Christ to begin with or they would not be deceived themselves.

  10. stricknine permalink
    April 21, 2008 8:50 pm

    Dana thanks for checking out my post and commenting, I really enjoyed your blog and your site. Wow 10 kids, that is awesome, I will check back from time to time. God Bless!!!
    Todd

  11. April 27, 2008 8:38 pm

    First, I love your music, and Scott’s. Just stumbled on your blogs. I love your expressed love of Jesus.

    I believe you must be reaching people. May God use you to continue to speak truth.

    I’m listening to the music and thinking ten children and I know why it is such a blest sound; yet, I can only imagine your house being filled with blest sounds!

  12. April 27, 2008 10:16 pm

    Thank you Mary Ann! Yes, my music on this blog is very soothing to me. I will often pull up my blog & just let the music play while I work or write.

  13. Amanda permalink
    April 29, 2008 8:53 am

    God’s jealousy is a beautiful thing!

  14. April 29, 2008 8:12 pm

    You are right Amanda! Oprah doesn’t understand God’s jealousy…she only understands man’s jealousy.

  15. kitadiva permalink
    May 19, 2008 10:04 am

    When I saw the book and read the synopsis at the bookstore that was IT for me. I know what I believe. I know what I know. Oprah will NOT change my mind about my God.

  16. Carolyn Loomis permalink
    September 7, 2008 8:57 pm

    I always respected Oprah and beleived that she was a Christian. If she is quoting that there are many ways to heaven, then she has forgotten John 3:16.
    And Revelations 20:18-19 also warns us that anyone who adds revelations to God’s Holy Bible will suffer the plagues written in His book. And, anyone who takes passages from his Book, will have his/her name taken out of the Book of Life. I just pray that she turns back ro Jehovah if she is promoting “additional revelations”.

    • onlyseano permalink
      May 25, 2009 7:25 am

      I was reading a book just yesterday that was talking about the “Oprahficication” of eastern mysticism. It was fascinating to read what he had to say about Oprah’s philosophy.

      The majority of it centered on the fact that Oprah’s true beliefs were founded in eastern mysticism, but that she presented it in the context of a “christianized” America.

      Really fascinating.

  17. dayofwrath permalink
    September 9, 2009 11:47 pm

    The message of the cross is nonsense to those who are being destroyed,but it is God power to us who are being saved.The power is not in or from Eckhart Tolle and Oprah,but from God.The power is the cross and now is the word that the church emphasizes on it:The Holy past is present now with power.Let Oprah and Eckhart if they dare,to speak on tv about the real “power of now” of the cross the true miracle of the blood in the book the coin of the temple by souheil bayoud.There you will find who is the false guru christ and who is the real Jesus Christ the Lord and Savior.
    dayofwrath

  18. dayofwrath permalink
    September 9, 2009 11:50 pm

    This is the second time I posted the comment.If you are afraid from the truth by not posting it,do not speak about the Lord Jesus Christ.
    dayofwrath

    • September 14, 2009 11:03 am

      I was not, not posting your comment on purpose. This is not my main blog anymore & I don’t check it as often as I used to. You comments are uncalled for, but I am posting them anyway. This is my blog & it is at my discretion as to what comments I post and which ones I do not post. I hope that you do not leave comments such as this one on other blogs. If you claim to be a believer, please act with the grace that the Lord Jesus Christ acted on.

  19. dayofwrath permalink
    September 15, 2009 4:27 am

    Thank you for posting my comment,God bless you.I am now on face book and it seems that a group of people are attacking the Lord Jesus Christ.
    dayofwrath

Leave a Reply

