Skip to content

The Thief Comes to Destroy Families…Not Just Hurt Them

March 31, 2008

“The thief comes only to steal…”

A mom emails me asking for prayer for her daughter who has moved in with abusive family members.  The daughter has a new baby out of wedlock and the father of the baby is not supporting her financially.  The mother is beside herself in worry and fear for the life of her daughter and grandson.

“…and kill…”

A friend shares about her daughter who has moved in with a boyfriend.  She has been arrested and refuses to respect her parents rules so she chooses the boyfriend instead.  My friend has given up any hope of her daughter returning to the truths that were taught to her as a young girl.  My friend fears the worst will happen to her daughter.

“…and destroy.”

I am asked to pray with friends over a close friends daughter.  This daughter has fallen in love with a man who has decieved her into thinking that he loves and will marry her.  He has introduced her to Wiccan and now as she plays around with witchcraft her family asks how this could happen.  She has moved out and is angry with her family for not supporting her new fiance.

These are all stories that I have heard just in the past 2 weeks.  These are all mothers who raised their daughters in the Word.  They began when their children were young and taught them the truths of Jesus Christ.  Their daughters all professed to believe in Jesus and seem to desire a life dedicated to God.  They did everything they knew to do so that this would not happen.  One mom said to me, “I feel all of those years of teaching and training and praying were all for nothing!  Where did we go wrong?”

“I have come that they might have life, and have it to the full.”(John 10:10, NIV)

A reality of being a mom is that when our children leave our home we are not guaranteed that they will choose correctly.  They now choose their decisions. We have taught them and discipled them, praying that they will choose Christ and not themselvcs.  It rips at my heart to think of one of my children walking a path like one of the girls I mentioned above. 

3 John verse 4 says, “I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.”  This is what we want as parents…to know that our children will walk in the truth.  I want to know that my child will choose a life for Christ rather than for him or her self.

Here is what I believe is our guarantee. 

Jesus says in John 11:25,26

 “I am the resurrection and the life.  He who believes in me will live…and he who believes in me will never die.”

If my child believes in Christ as the resurrection and the life, as the Son of God, he/she will live eternally in Heaven.

Jesus said again in John 10:28, 29,

I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish, no one can snatch them out of my hand.   My father, who has given them to me is greater than all, no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.”

 

These moms all know that their daughters are Christians.  They are confidant that they trusted Christ as their Savior and now, for reasons that we may never understand, their daughters have walked away from Christ.  But these moms know that their daughters all belong to Christ and he will return them in his timing.

The thief is out to get our families!  We need to wake up and realize that he is on the prowl and he is not out to just hurt us, he is out to destroy us!  He wants to break up our families and turn our hearts away from God.  But we are reminded by Paul in Romans that nothing can separate us from the love of God.  Nothing, “neither death nor life, neither angels or demons…not anything else in creation.”(Romans 8:38,39)

Does that bring a little peace to your heart?  It does mine.  My children are HIS, they belong to Christ.  The enemy can try everything in his power to destroy my family, but because of the power of the blood of Jesus, he cannot succeed.

If you have young ones start now immersing them in the truths of God.  Speak to them during play about how much God loves them.  Teach them now about sin and how much God hates it.  Read them the stories in the Old Testament about the amazing things God did for his people and show them in the New Testament how Jesus came to Earth to show us how to love one another.  Pray with your children everyday.  Talk with them and look them in the eyes and ask, “What has God done for you today?”

I asked my 3 yr old, Gracie what was the biggest blessing God had given her.  She very sweetly & quickly anwered, “Jesus!”.  I couldn’t have come up with a better answer myself.

If you have teenagers, take time to find out what they believe and do they know why they believe it.  Keep this as an ongoing conversation.  Share with them what God is teaching you in your quiet time.  Pray with your teens.  Show them how important your relationship with the Lord is and how vital that they too have one.  They need to take Jesus from the stories and make him personal.  Show them that the words in the Bible were written just for them to guide them and protect them.  Teach them to put on the shield of faith so that when the enemy comes knocking they can stand against his evil plans to destroy their life. (Eph 6)

There is no secret formula to raising kids who will turn out right.  But I believe that when we raise them according to God’s word and with His wisdom and guidance, then when they hear the call to trust Christ, they will follow him.  They will gain a heart to know him early and seek him.  If they go astray he will hold them and bring them back in His perfect timing.  We have to let go and trust in His timing.  That will be the hardest part of being a parent, I think.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2008 12:13 pm

    Very sad and sobering. Do you think that part of the problem is that some children don’t really know God for themselves? They don’t really develop their own relationship with God. I pray all the time that my kids will each know God personally and love Him with all their hearts. I know we can’t guarantee anything, but I believe our prayers can really influence the way our kids go.

    Oh, by the way, I found out I’m having a girl! I’m excited. I would have been happy with either, but it’s exciting to know who I’m carrying! Her name is Abigail Eden. We all decided that the other night. The kids helped me pick the name. Gary is no help. He keeps saying he likes the name Andromeda! I’m so sure! Now we’ll have 6 girls and 4 boys. The girls are way ahead now!

    Please pray for Gary in his job situation. Thank you for your prayers.

    Love,
    Penney

  2. Anna permalink
    April 1, 2008 5:54 pm

    Trust in God and have faith in him. I have 7 children. I have gone through the teenage crisis with 3 girls and 1 boy. I am still have 3 more teenagers ( girls) one of which has just turned 13. 5 of these children are step children which is by far harder to raise. Their mothers decided to live their own lives rather then bother with their children. I however always prayed for a large family but did not want to “have them all” God blessed me abundantly. Everytime I was at my wits end, I would pray….cry out to God because it is so frustrating…. not being their mother and children can be so hurtful…..God always answered!!!!! His answer was ….”No matter what …..LOVE THEM AS I lOVE YOU…Glory to God !!!!!!He is always right, now although the children continue to make the wrong choices …..they know God !!!! They are beginning to ask questions and listen to my advice…..The answer I tell them is to trust in God and do what is right in his eyes.

    My husband and I try to set good examples and share our faith with them. Every oportunity that comes…..I tell them to love God first. Trust in him and NO Matter what they see and hear believe that God is in control. He knows what is best for them.
    Well Thanks be to God we have gone through different situations with each child and with each child…..I have prayed that before they were mine….They belong to God first. I pray God teach them whatever they need to learn and pray that they come into the fold of the Lord!!!!
    Remember God gives us all free will, even our children. Just keep praying for your children and NEVER stop. No matter what you see or hear….You have planted the seed and it will grow….all in God’s time. Our children need to learn sometimes for themselves. As they grow they tend to listen to their peers rather than their parents. That is when I have to practice tough love. It is not easy but it is God’s way not mine.
    When they get into trouble ….I ask them what they learned. I also remind them that if they do not learn…they will again go through another trial until they make the right choice. Them I ask them ….What do you know God would have you do now?
    It works… I myself go through trials and share with my children what I learned and continue to thank and praise God……It doesn’t matter what I see or hear….God will take care of all of our needs.
    At this time I ask you keep us in your prayers. We have a business and a thief ( some whom we have helped along their way in their business)is trying to take and destroy what God has blessed us with…..I trust in God that he will see us through this and Satan will not take what God has blessed us with. I know that in the end God take this situation and turn it around and it will be even better then it was before!!!!!!! I also pray blessing on those thives and hope they will do what is good.
    Thanks be to God !!!!!We give him all the Glory and Praise!!!!!! Aren’t we so blessed to have such a Loving, Faithful and Awesome God!!!!!!!
    Thanks friends for you prayers, you will be in mine too!!!!!
    Anna

  3. April 1, 2008 6:54 pm

    Penney, Congrats on another sweet baby girl! Concerning the girls in my story, since they are not my daughters I can not say whether or not they truly knew the Lord personally. This is something that I have noticed in one of my children recently…the need for them to bring Jesus into a personal relationship rather than just remotely reading their Bible & knowing the stories. It has to be their own personal desire & hunger for Christ. I cannot force that, just exemplify it.

    Anna, thanks so much for you caring spirit and testimony of how God has worked through your family. You will be in our prayers!

  4. Tammy Mckinney permalink
    May 22, 2008 8:11 am

    Dear Dana, I am not like the mothers who raised their children in a christian atmosphere. Please forgive me for mispellings and such for I do not have much of an education. I was pregnant at 16 had my first child at 17. I was in a very abusive relationship and let my aunt raise my daughter. I went on and had 2 more children with another man and was with him 17 years, very abusive also, but I would not leave. My children are now 26 ( she is a cutter)21 he is a( severe drug addict) and 18(she has a(child out of wedlock) I have now a personal relationship with Jesus Christ . For many years I was bitter , I blamed everyone for the way my life turned out . It took me till I was 38 to realize it was the choices I made that brought me here. I was extremly depressed over my children (layed in bed for three years) and God revieled to me , If you found me with no christian upbringing dont you think it can happen for them? I pray for my children on a constant basis and I have some really bad days because of what Ive done , but I know if my God loves me as much as he does .I cant imagine how much he loves my children. Oh how blessed these children are that have christian parents. I never see any articals on mothers who say they were terriable mothers and I hope this can help someone else. There is no worse pain in the world as watching how you raised your children unfold in their lives everyday and scared to death everytime that phone rings late at night knowing they dont know Jesus. God Bless You All

  5. May 22, 2008 9:49 am

    Tammy,
    Thank you so much for sharing your story. We need to hear from moms like you more often! We as parents like to think that we did all that we could do so if our kids don’t turn out like we wanted them to it must be someone else’s fault.
    Keep sharing your story! There is power in the testimonies of the Believer’s!

    Blessings! Dana

Leave a Reply

