Skip to content

Worship First, Complain Later

March 13, 2008

 

I should of known that when I decided to do a few post on worship yesterday that the Lord would use my quiet time this morning to show me what I need to learn for myself about worship. 

My youngest child woke up this morning at 5:30.  You know who wakes up at 5:30?  Roosters!  Not me!  I changed the baby’s diaper, gave him a bottle of milk & put him back to bed hoping he would go back to sleep.  I then went back to bed.  But I just laid there with my eyes wide open.  I could not go back to sleep.  Believe me, I tried.  It was still dark outside, I did not want to get up yet.  But, I knew that the Lord was trying to get me up & really, truly I didn’t want to miss an opportunity for him to speak to me so I got up, grabbed my Bible & went into our Living Room.  I got the coffee pot started and then sat down to pray.

Lord, I just don’t feel that you are hearing my prayers these days.” I started off.  “I wish that you would give me an answer and let me know that your are there.”  (Can you believe that?)  I sat there for at least 5 minutes dumping all of my complaints on Him.  I was not feeling any better about my “troubles” either.

 The coffee pot was ready so I went & loaded up on some coffee and then sat back down, opening up my Bible.  I have been starting my reading off by reading a chapter in Psalm & Proverbs for whatever day it is.  so today, I read the 13th chapers.  And what do you think the first verse is in Psalm 13?

How long O Lord? Will you forget me forever?  How long will you hide your face from me?”

I’m thinking…”Yeah, where are you?”

I keep reading and the longer I read the more convicted I get.

The last verse is, “I will sing to the Lord, for he has been good to me.”

Oh Lord, my God.  I sat here giving you all of my whimpy little complaints when I should have been worshiping you.  Forgive me for being so selfish and focused on myself.  You are the one to be praised.  You are the one who has never forsaken me or let me down.  You are the one to trust in, not me.  You have been so good to me.  Your love for me is so far reaching and uncomprehendable.  I will sing to you and bless you with my praise because you have been so good to me.

Memo to self:  Worship & praise my God first, then I won’t remember the complaints.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2008 10:26 am

    Beautifully put! Yes, let’s worship first, and then we won’t feel like complaining, will we? We’ll know where He is, right here! Praise the Lord, oh, my soul, and forget not His excellent benefits!
    Nice to talk to you again, Dana! Have a great day!

    Love,
    Penney

  2. Anna permalink
    March 30, 2008 2:39 pm

    Thank you for this sebsite! I just randomly was looking for ….inspiration……for someone to talk to about God, and found you. I’ve read some entrites and have cried and cried feeling so blessed to have found so many people feeling at times the way I have. Praise be to God and BLess you for now I have found a place to walk (with my fingers)and feel inspired and to find wisdom in the many articles you have.
    Anna

  3. March 30, 2008 5:05 pm

    Anna,
    Thank you for your sweet words. My prayer is always that someone would be blessed by the words that God has given me to write. I am still learning more about His ways everday. I write for me and just let everyone else read. :o) If you ever have any questions, please let me know. Blessings! Dana

  4. Jesus_saves permalink
    April 21, 2008 3:56 am

    Dana,
    I am certainly at the point in my prayer life where my heart has been heavy with pain for a long time because of the troubles in my life and I am stepping out in faith and telling God how I really feel about things. The uncomfortable places and my faith that requires affirming constantly.
    The mistake ( it was a mistake because I now realise I can’t hide even my inner most thoughts from God) I have made thus far in my walk with the Lord, is not to completely articulate to Him the real pain I was feeling and asking Him the questions “WHY” and “HOW”.
    David in the bible was honest with God in prayer, when He was hurting or feeling abandoned ( God never left his side) , he would let God know. Having the faith that He who gave him life is a faithful God, and that He would continue to preserve him.
    Psalm 13
    1 How long, O LORD ? Will you forget me forever?
    How long will you hide your face from me?
    2 How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
    and every day have sorrow in my heart?
    How long will my enemy triumph over me?

    3 Look on me and answer, O LORD my God.
    Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death;

    4 my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,”
    and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

    5 But I trust in your unfailing love;
    my heart rejoices in your salvation.

    6 I will sing to the LORD,
    for he has been good to me.

    A lot of us fear expressing our true feekings, thinking if we really told God about how we felt about our trials and tribulations then He would probably “increase the heat of the pressure cooker” or turn His face away from us in shock.

    I am encouraged (I sing and shout praises) that I can learn from the psalmist that God is attentive ; Psalm 34:15 The eyes of the LORD are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their cry;

Leave a Reply

