Skip to content

Purity Petals

February 29, 2008

I stumbled across an excellent blog post just now & wanted to share it with you.

Danica writes~ 

 I burst through the front door out onto the cement porch of our old 1925 brick house. The sun was shining, and the sky was BRIGHT blue with fluffy white clouds, a perfect spring day! I was probably the happiest 8 year old there was. (Or at least I liked to think so)

My mother had bought new flowers to plant throughout the yard, like she always did. Mum was out in the side yard on her hands and knees digging up dirt and planting the little buds of flowers in the ground. I was excited to help her.
This year was different, this year I was a ‘big girl’ and Mum was giving me my own flower to take care of by myself! She had given me a small peony plant to grow in my little garden.
Mum looked up at me, patted the ground next to her and asked “Come help me, Sis?”.

She showed me how to get the little roots into the ground, gently cover them with dirt, and pat the dirt down firmly around it. My little peony was now getting used to it’s new ‘home’.
I was thrilled!  (You can’t blame me! “Your own little flower” is a big deal to an 8 year old! *laughs* )
I went into the big old white wood garage to fetch my watering can. I filled it up from the nearest garden hose, and took it over to give ‘my little flower’ a drink.

For weeks I babied my little flower. I named it “Lucy” after my favorite character from the Snoopy comic.
I loved to watch it grow day by day, bugger and bigger. First from a small baby bud, then ever so slowly into a mostly full bloomed flower!
I would proudly show Grandma and all my friends my flower, and they would “ooh” and “ahh” accordingly. I was a proud parent. 

Read the rest of the story at Java Dawn about the importance of protecting our purity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

