Skip to content

5 R’s to Remember when going through Tough Times

February 24, 2008

1. Release the need to know why.

  • Job 13:15, ” God might kill me, but I have no other hope. I am going to argue my case with him.” (NLT)
  • 2 Corinthians 12:9, “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

Just know that he is God and that he loves you and knows you deeper than anyone and wants you to love and believe that he is in control.

2. Remember the source of our strength is Christ.

  • Hebrews 4:15,16, “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet was without sin. Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

3.  Realize that we do not suffer alone.

  • Isaiah 43:2,”When you pass through the waters,I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire,  you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.”

4. Rejoice in our future hope. 

  • Romans 8:18, “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.”
  • 2 Corinthians 4:16-17, “Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.”

5.  Restore hope to others and bring comfort.

  • 2 Corinthians 1:3,4, “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.”
5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 6:22 pm

    Thank you!

  2. Natalya permalink
    June 9, 2009 9:05 am

    Thank you for this wonderful blueprint! I was searching on the internet for ideas for a talk I’m doing with young ladies, and this is awesome!! Its simple, easy to remember, yet builds up faith. God’s blessings.

  3. June 18, 2009 8:05 am

    This is really good. Great verses, and I love the way you made them easy to remember by putting them under R words. Can I post this on my blog?

    • June 20, 2009 10:11 am

      I can’t take all the credit for this. Some of them came from my pastor, Chuck Swindoll, but I did add to it my own “R’s”. Feel free to post it with a link to my blog as well.

  4. samuel permalink
    November 8, 2010 5:34 am

    thanks for this encouraging words it has lifted my faith may the almighty increase you in JESUS NAME.

Leave a Reply

