Skip to content

Take Me Away With You

February 22, 2008

 

 clock

We live such hurried lives.  Everywhere we are going we are on a time limit or trying to meet a deadline.  We eat on the go, read on the go(books on CD),parent on the go.  Our schedules often have mastered us. 

Sadly, I don’t remember much of the early days when me first children were babies.  I had my first five children in less than five years. I was in complete survival mode.  I had been a mother for only 5 years and a wife for six years.  It was all very new to me.  My memories are mostly of me hurrying around trying to get house work done while they napped.  And if anyone woke up before I was ready my mood turned ugly.  I wasted so many of my days worrying & racing towards things that just didn’t matter.

 

Psalms 119:60, “I will hasten and not delay to obey your commands.”

What are we always hurrying to?  Life is fleeting away and we are chasing it down.  David hastened, he hurried, he wasted no time in obeying God’s commands.  He understood the vital importance of obeying God rather than following man.  He had many opportunities to follow man’s advice, yet he chose to follow God instead.  Scripture calls him, “a man after God’s own heart.”

I truly believe that when we stand face to face with our God we will in that moment realize the reality of how short our life was and how much time we wasted on unimportant things.  You have heard it said to live today as if it were your last.  I don’t think that is bad advice at all.  We are not promised tomorrow, only today.

 

“Take me away with you – let us hurry!  Let the King bring me into his chambers.”

Song of Solomon 1:4

Christ is our groom.  He loves us with a love that we could never comprehend.  It is deeper than any depth on earth.  Yet, do we hurry to spend time alone with him?  Do we long to be with him in a close and intimate way?  We should.

Try praying this scripture to your God.  “Take me away with you.”  Just meditate on those words.  Clear your mind of all that clutters and distracts you from focusing on the Lord.  This prayer can help us to overcome our sense of urgency to accomplish tasks that do not bring uscloser to him.  Time with your Lord will bring you to a place in your life where God alone is your true desire.

God doesn’t want to be on the top of your list.  HE WANTS TO BE YOUR ENTIRE LIST!

He doesn’t want to be one of your loves.  HE WANTS TO BE YOUR ONLY TRUE LOVE.  He is a jealous God.  He wants all of your attention and devotion.

A person  hastens to obey God only when there are no hindrances in her relationship with Him.  Every hindrance to obediance reveals the existance of other loves in our life.

Do you have other loves?  Husband…Children…Church…Friends…Work?

My personal experience is that when Christ is my only love.  When my heart is all his & is not divded by other loves, everything else falls into place.  My husband gets my time, my children get my time & all of my other responsibilites are accomplished with out fret or frustration.  It is a totally illogical circustance…but it happens. 

 

Try praying this five simple words and see if it changes your prayer life.  If you can tell a difference, please let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

