Skip to content

1000 Gifts

January 10, 2008

The other morning I was on my way to a meeting at church.  I still had a gift card to Starbucks in my purse & hadn’t had any coffee yet so I decided to swing through Starbucks real fast.  I rolled down my window and placed my order and then began to pull up to the window to get my coffee.  The wind was picking up and the air was getting colder so I pushed the button to roll up my window.  Nothing happened.  This is nothing new for my van.  It has done this since we got it but recently has become more stubborn in working.  Several times I have rolled my window down on a really cold day and had to drive with it down until it decided to work right.  But this time it really irritated me.  Things had been really stressful at home because of my husbands job and this little thing felt like a big thing on this morning.  I immediatley began to grumble about it. 

 I pulled up to window and was greeted by a very cute & young blonde girl who was way more happy than I was ready for.  After all, my window was not going to come up, it was cold, and I was now about to be late to my meeting. 

“Good morning!” she said

“Hi there” I replied, trying to sound happy to be there.

“So, are we having a work day, play day or maybe just a mom day today?” (still very cheerful.)

“Um, well it is always a Mom-day, but I am on my way to a meeting.”

“You are a mom, so how many kids do you have?” (ughhhh I hate that question!)

“Ten”

“Two?”

“No, ten as in ten little indians.”

“Wow…and I only have 2.  I will definitley remember you when I am stressed out with my 2 kids.”(she’s still smiling, I’m thinking where is my coffee?)

So, anyway my coffee finally arrived so I said my thank you & headed out and of course my window was still not going to work.

“Come on you stupid window!  It is cold out there…just roll up this once please.”

And then I felt the Spirit whispering into my soul as he is so timely and faithful to do.

“What are you thankful for?”

So I decided to thank God for what I am thankful for and try to roll up my window.  So I said, “Lord, thank you so much for this old van and how faithful it is to start everytime I need to go somewhere.” and I tried my window and it came up a little.  So I did it again…

“Lord, thank you for my big bunch of kids.  They are who I love to spend my day with & I love being their mom.” 

Window: up a little more!

“Lord, you have blessed me with the most amazing man in all of your creation I think.  He puts up with so much of my bad habits & never says a word.  He is crazy in love with me, but even better than that he is even more deeply in love with you.  Thank you!”

Window: almost there!

“Lord, you love for me overwhelms me and I don’t know how you can love a person like me, but you do.  I do not deserve to even be alive much less have the life you have given me.  Thank you for your love, your sacrifce and your promise to provide.  I love you!”

Window: All the way up & no more cold wind coming in.  Praise the Lord!

 My attitude was totally transformed when I stop thinking about my crummy window and began worshipping my God.

Charles Spurgeon said,

 “With such a panorama unfolding before you there is no excuse for despair; but you may find ten thousand reasons for confidence in God.”

I love that, no matter what is going on in my life, I have at least ten thousand reasons to be confident in God’s covenant of love in my life.  I have at least ten thousand reasons to be thankful to Him.

Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.

 Colossians 3:2

 So, I have decided to participate in the 1000 Gifts List.  On this blog I will begin making a list of gifts, not of gifts I want or have given, but of gifts that I have…by my God.

My life is quickly being swept away by much busyness, schedules, illness, trials and more.  I don’t want to forget all that God has given me but when I am sitting in the center of all that is going wrong in my life I don’t think about my gifts. Blessings. Treasures. God.

George MacDonald wrote, “No gift unrecognized as coming from God is at its own best…when in all gifts we find Him, then in Him we shall find all things.”

All things are from God and are of God and I don’t want to miss a single one.  I want my heart and mind focused on his gifts not me & my failures.  I expect a great transformation in my life. 

 I encourage you to start your own 1000 Gift List and see what God can do in you!

Let your roots grow deep into him and draw up nourishment from him, so you will grow in faith, strong and vigorous in the truth you were taught.  Let your lives overflow with thanksgiving for all he has done.”

Colossians 2:7 (NLT)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. trailmixup permalink
    January 15, 2008 10:11 pm

    🙂 I’m borrowing your idea of 100 Gifts, Dana. I gave a link back to yours. What a great idea to promote gratitude.

  2. January 16, 2008 1:31 pm

    It wasn’t my idea, but thanks anyway. I got the idea from Holy Experience Blog (see my blogroll).

Leave a Reply

