Skip to content

Do the Next Thing

November 20, 2007

Sometimes we can be so caught up in our own grief that we don’t know what to do next.  It may seem as though taking one step forward could take us off the side of the cliff.  We can’t see where we are going, we are trying to trust God for guidance, but not knowing what will happen within the next few minutes brings about a fear in us that we don’t like to admit.  OK, yes, I am talking from experience.  My husband & I should have this “walking by faith” down to an art form by now, but we don’t.  When things get tight we start to fret.  With our mouths we say, “We know that God will provide.”, but still we worry how & when it will happen. 

Once I remember when finances were really bad after the 9/11 attacks and we had no money.  Our phones were turned off for a while.  “What do we do now?”  I asked.  Scott says, “I go to work, you stay here with the kids like we normally do.  We just live as normal as we can.”  When life seems to be falling in on us we sometimes want to just crawl into our corner and wait for it to go away.  It is when we keep going that we see the Lord working.  It is when we keep going to his Word on a daily basis that we still hear from him.

When the Israelites were in the wilderness and they were crying out for delieverance God spoke to Moses & said, “Why do you cry to me?  Tell the children of Israel to go forward.” (Exodus 14:15)

God leads us step by step, day by day & moment by moment.  But because I don’t know what will happen in the next moment I try to take control.  History tells me over & over that it never works; my own history & the history of others.

I have learned that when God wants our attention & he can’t get it, he begins to take things away from us that are distracting us from him.  Then we become like the Israelites who had no choice but to eat the manna that God provided each day.  He wants us to be confidant in his ability to take care of us today & not worry about tomorrow.  Wow, that is really hard when the kids ask what they will eat tomorrow or when they can get new shoes or whatever the need may be.  These difficult times that are meant to be times of polishing so that we can shine brighter and be useful to our Lord.  It is his way of preparing us for greater days or maybe more difficult days.  We don’t know, but he does.

 water_running_pebbles.jpg

Matthew 6:34 (TLB)  says, “So, don’t be anxious about tomorrow. God will take care of your tomorrow too.  Live one day at a time.”

 

We don’t live in a society that understands not being anxious.  We are planners & we feel that we must know what tomorrow holds.  This concept of not worrying about tomorrow is foreign to so many.  For those who live by faith it is a way of life.

 

MOMENT BY MOMENT 

Never a trial that He is not there,

Never a burden that He does not bear,

Never a sorrow that He does not share,

Moment by moment, we’re under His care.

~by; Daniel W. Whittle

DO THE NEXT THING

At an old English parsonage down by the sea,
There came in the twilight a message to me.
Its quaint Saxon legend deeply engraven
That, as it seems to me, teaching from heaven.
And all through the hours the quiet words ring,
Like a low inspiration, do the next thing.

Many a questioning, many a fear,
Many a doubt hath its quieting here.
Moment by moment, let down from heaven,
Time, opportunity, and guidance are given.
Fear not tomorrows, child of the King,
Trust them with Jesus, do the next thing.

Do it immediately, do it with prayer;
Do it reliantly, casting all care.
Do it with reverence, tracing His hand,
Who placed it before thee with earnest command.
Stayed on Omnipotence, safe ‘neath His wing,
Leave all results, do the next thing.

Looking to Jesus, ever serener,
Working or suffering be thy demeanor;
In His dear presence, the rest of His calm,
The light of His countenance, be thy psalm,
Strong in His faithfulness, praise and sing.
Then, as He beckons, do the next thing.

(I found this poem in a newsletter I get, but I could not find the authors name.  If you know, please let me know)

 river-pebbles.jpg

FATHER,

Please help me to remember that you gave me today and that you will provide.  I thank you for the gift of today and the opportunity to honor & praise you.  Please forgive my doubt and my fear.  I want to bring glory to you & live in a way that shows others why they need you.  Hear my cry & answer me  – Oh God.  A~men

Here are a few scriptures to remind you of God’s presence in any & every situation.

Philippians 4:5-6, “The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything.”

Isaiah 41:10, “Fear not, for I am with you.”

Genesis 28:15, “Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever youu go.”

Acts 18:9-10, “Speak, and do not keep silent; for I am with you.”

Hebrews 13:5. “I will never leave nor forsake you.”

JUST DO THE NEXT THING…trust your God & your Savior

pebbles.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Deanna Taylor permalink
    November 21, 2007 2:38 am

    Thank you again. A timely reminder as I approach the holidays–with all the distracting clutter in my calendar and corners and heart and mind. All the more as we face trials and such on top of it. My husband and I are both discovering the blessings of living this way though. We’ve spoken of it often.

    May the Lord bless your Thanksgiving and Christmas times with your family. Soon enough your holidays will change as your children begin to come and go with spouses and children of their own. (We are enjoying our first holiday season like that with my husband’s daughter, new husband and our brand new grandson. (2 weeks old today:)) Simplify all you can so you can make the most of every opportunity to spend time with your kids. (But you know that.) Be blessed and refreshed in each “next thing” you do to the glory of God!

  2. November 21, 2007 1:32 pm

    Deanna,
    Your comments & emails are always such a blessing! thanks for encouraging me! Keep ’em coming!

    Dana

Leave a Reply

