Skip to content

August ’07 Newsletter

November 17, 2007

 Let’s Talk About Boys!

Hello again!  Here we are coming to the end of summer already.  I don’t know what it is like around your house, but around ours it has been very busy.  The boys are outside all the time.  The creek by our house is overflowing with frogs, turtles, crayfish, and other gooey type creatures that my boys are crazy about.  I finally had to make a new rule; no more frogs in the house!  I really got tired of finding tiny little frogs in the sink in the guest bathroom. 

Years ago when we had 4 wild little boys and 3 calm little girls I was at my wits end.  I didn’t know what to do with boys!  They were loud, stinky and did things I just didn’t understand.  I was beginning to think that God had it in for me & his punishment was giving me a house full of boys.  Then someone gave me Dr.Dobsons book, Bringing Up Boys.  For the first time in my life I felt that it was a really good thing to have so many boys.  My perspective changed and I fell in love with my stinky, loud, little men all over again.  I just can’t imagine my life without them.  I know their sisters can imagine a much quieter and cleaner house if they were not here, but even they would admit that these boys make our lives so much more exciting.  Zachary(5) is pictured above.  He has the deepest dimples I have ever seen & his laugh is none stop.  Austin is the next picture down.  He is all about conquering the enemy.  When the other boys were playing with trucks, he was fighting off the bad guys as some kind of super hero.  Ben is pictured at the bottom of the next article.  He is the one that has to hug me at least 5 times a day.  What would I do without all those hugs?  He has a great servants heart. Sam is our newest boy.  He is almost a year old.  He just makes us laugh.  His favorite things to do are chase the cat, chase the dog and nurse.  Josh & Collin are the “older boys” They share a room, rarely get along, but can’t live without each other.  They may argue & fight in the house but once they step outside they are a united front, not to be reckoned with.  These are my boys.  As cute as they are, I probably spend more time on my knees praying for them than anyone else.  They are my reminder that I know NOTHING about being a mom.  I have to rely on God for all everything, if I don’t I may find myself hiding from them in my closet with my chocolate.

This newsletter is all about our boys and loving them even when we don’t understand why they do the crazy things they do.  I will share with you some of what the Lord has taught me thanks to my boys.  Also, my husband wrote me a few things that he thought I needed to know about boys.  I hope you enjoy this issue.  It was a lot of fun for me to remember how much I love being the mom of 6 stinky, wild, and very huggable boys.

Raising a Modern Day Daniel

Daniel 1 details a wonderful story of 4 very strong and dedicated young men.  These men were in their early teens, but according to their culture were considered men.  There was evil in Jerusalem.  For many years it had been ruled by kings who were wicked and God handed Jerusalem over to the king of Babylon.  2 Kings 24:14 says that, “He(King Nebuchadnezzar) carried into exile all Jerusalem: all the officers and fighting men, and all the craftsmen and artisans-a total of ten thousand. Only the poorest people of the land were left.” “Among these were some from Judah: Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael and Azariah. (Daniel 1:6)

After arriving in Babylon the young men were gradually stripped of their Jewish heritage.  First they received new Babylonian names, and then they were to eat the Babylonian food.  Daniel and his friends, I’m sure, were not happy with their new names, after all they were much harder to pronounce, but they could live with it.  But when the new menu was set before them they knew they couldn’t defy themselves.  It would go against everything they had been taught.  The Mosaic Law was very clear about eating unclean foods; “Don’t do it”!  In Daniels mind, there was no choice; he could not eat the Babylonian food.  His friends agreed with him and together the 4 of them rebelled, respectfully of course, against eating the fine foods of the Babylonians.  They knew that their God was bigger than even the mighty Babylonians.  They had a very healthy fear of their God.

They stood before the overseer of the court of officials and asked permission to not defile themselves.  The God they so strongly believed in softened the heart of the officials.  This Daniel was a very wise man.  He made a bargain with the official.  Is that not like the typical man?  Daniel tells the official “Please test your servants for ten days by providing us with some vegetables to eat and water to drink.  Then compare our appearance with that of the young men who are eating the royal delicacies; deal with us in light of what you see.”(Daniel 1:12,13)  It worked!  They got what they wanted.  Even better, the whole plan worked.  They were able to show that their simple diet of vegetables and water made them stronger than the others who ate the food of the Babylonians.  Then the official removed all of the junk food and they all ate the healthy food.  After all, the King didn’t need fat, lazy Jewish men in his court.  They were no good to him like that.

Because Daniel remained faithful to his God, did not conform to the pagan culture, and took a stand against that which he knew was wrong he was blessed over & over for the rest of his life.  Read about his life in the book of Daniel.  It is fantastic.  I didn’t say it was easy, but it was very blessed.

As a mom, I have to wonder what kind of mom Daniel had.  Did she know that she had raised a young man who was so strong in his convictions?

Read the rest of the article on my blog

5 Things Moms Need to Know About Their Boys.

By: Scott Bailey

 

1.  Boys are created wild at heart.  They want adventure in every aspect of daily life, they enjoy an enemy to fight and defeat, a damsel in distress, weapons for battle to help secure their territory and the territory of those in distress…they desire to be that “knight in shining armor”.  This may cause splinters in hands or bruises on the forehead, but rest assure they will heal.  Boys scars are like his trophies….let him get a little scarred up in life.  They like things that move fast, make loud noises, and fly high in the air.  Do not be shocked if your boy wants to go faster, higher, and make a louder noise….this is just simply a fascinating challenge to any real boy. 

2.  When boys reach the age of young manhood around   10 – 12 yrs old, they will began to pull away from mom more as they yearn to be more independent.  This in no way indicates that the boys love their moms less, but they are not nearly as huggy and kissy and do not need mom to hold their hand while crossing the parking lot anymore…that becomes embarrassing to them at this point. 

3.  Boys like to pickup any strange looking creature they come across.  This includes, but is not limited to, snakes, frogs, spiders, worms, lizards, insects, caterpillars, mice, rats, and such.  Most of these will end up in the pants pockets of the boys…. from boys prospective, what are pockets for?  So, always look through boys pockets before washing those pants. 

4.   Boys enjoy being thought of as “handy” around the home.  Mom should ask him to help her if at all possible with opening a jar, taking out the trash, feeding the animals, mowing the yard, hammering in nails for pictures (be careful with this one), gluing something back together and anything like this.  Boys take great pride in knowing that mom thinks he is big enough to handle tougher and tougher jobs….a sign that he is “growing up”.

5.  Boys need a hero.  Great men that rescued ladies in distress, always ended up winning in the end, were the good guys, fought mighty when in battle, were brave and heroic, men of strong faith that did not back down from the biblical truths, missionaries that took great risk in order to share Christ with a particular tribe, cowboys of the old west, military greats, and so on.  Even fathers and grandfathers can be placed in this category if he is involved in the boys life.

Read more about boys here on my blog.

Sam

This is Sam, our youngest (15m)

 

 

If you would like to recieve the newsletter in your email box, then click on the Email Newsletter link under my picture.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

