Skip to content

May 2007, Newsletter

November 12, 2007

pebbles.jpg

 Don’t Give up! 

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”  Galatians 6:9 (NIV)

 

I don’t know about you, but as a mom, there are days when I’m just not sure my kids are getting anything that I am trying to teach them.  I feel so often that I am not teaching them anything or making a difference at all.  We still have the bad attitudes & disobedience that slows down what I want to get done in a day. 

One morning in our Bible time we discussed being a peace maker.  We had a great discussion & even better prayer time.  Then our day started and it was like no one remember anything that we had discussed!  I would ask them, “Are you being a peacemaker or peace breaker?” as I pulled 2 of my boys apart with legs and arms still flying.  Will they ever get along?

A few days later I was in the house with the windows open.  Some of my boys were playing outside in front of our house with some neighborhood kids.  The other kids started arguing about something.  I stopped what I was doing and began listening.  My boys told them that it was stupid to argue over that, it wasn’t that important.  It became clear that one of the other boys just wanted to fight over it. My boys ended up just coming inside.  I acted as if I was busy when they walked in & asked them what they needed when they came in.  They said nothing, they just didn’t want to be outside anymore.  “Thank you Lord!” I prayed silently.  They made a choice to leave the trouble makers to their own argument & not participate.  WooHoo!

Just when I think I am getting no where with my kids in teaching them godly character & wisdom the Lord gives me a tiny glimpse that they do hear a little of what I say.  I think it is his way of saying, “Do not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time you will reap a harvest.”  He is saying, “Don’t give up!  These kids need you to teach them about me.”

Being a mom is so hard.  But God knows how hard it is and just when we are ready to throw in the towel he picks it up, wipes the sweat from our brow or the tears from our eyes and gives us what we need so that one of these days we will reap a harvest.

“Commit your way to the LORD, trust also in him, and he shall bring it to pass.  Psalm 37:3

 

 

Raising Up Godly Mothers 

As a mother of 4 daughters I know that one of these days they will be mothers(at least I hope they will) and I often wonder if I am teaching them all they need to know to be godly mothers. My time is growing short with each passing year.  If they get married and become moms as early as I did, then I could be a grandmother in only 3 years!  Will they know how to cook well enough, do the laundry or clean the house?  As I continue to watch my girls grow up into wonderful young ladies I know that all those things are secondary to what they really must know.

They need to know God in a personal and intimate way if they are to be the godly wives their husbands need.  They must know how to depend on God for the wisdom and guidance to teach & train their children.  These are things that I am still learning how to do and yet I know that as I am learning I must also teach it to my girls. 

If I am going to teach them to know God personally then I need to know him personally.  As I immerse myself in his word I also immerse my children by sharing with them what I have learned and discussing it with them.

One of the best ways I can teach my daughters to be godly wives is to exhibit that myself.  By loving their father, supporting and adoring him they learn how to love their own future husbands.  When I speak negatively of their father it cuts deep into their souls also.  They see when I respect him and they see when I don’t.

They also watch me as I deal daily with their siblings.  I know they watch because they treat their younger siblings the same way.  They are like little mirrors for me to see my true self in.  I must watch my words and how they are said.  I have to be careful as to how I react to someone who comes to my front door or comments rudely about our family in public.  They learn how to treat others by watching me. Ahhh!  That is scary at times because I know I make huge mistakes all the time.  I am so bad at speaking first then thinking.  My mom says I get that from her.

When I begin to worry if I am preparing them enough for life outside our home, the Lord reminds me that I am only his vessel.  If I trust him & depend on him for wisdom, my children will recieve all they need from me when they need it.  He knows what they will become and he knows what they need to become that.  My role is to teach them the Bible, apply it to my own life, and to pray that they will desire and hunger for it themselves.

I can’t wait to see my daughters as wives & mothers.  I really think they will make excellent ones.  Not because I am doing such a great job, but because of the work I see God doing in their hearts right now.  The desires and interests he is placing in their hearts are making for a great sneek peek into their future.

Teaching Wisdom to Your Children

Wisdom can often be a hard concept to grasp for adults much less for kids.  The world’s wisdom is totally opposite than God’s wisdom for us.  Many times we confuse having knowledge and having wisdom as the same thing and it is not.  If you read the Ten Commandments, you have the knowledge of God’s Laws.  When you apply them and put them into practice is when you gain God’s wisdom in the law.  We can read the whole entire Bible, but until we begin to apply & practice what it says will we begin to understand God and gain wisdom.  So how do you teach this to your children?  The same way you eat an elephant, one bite at a time.

Proverbs is a great place to start.  Begin reading Proverbs with your child & memorizing it.  Talk about what the verses mean and how we should live according to the verses.  If you are not sure that is o’k, go look it up together in a commentary. Bible Gateway is a great online place to find many commentaries and Bible translations.

Here is a short lesson you can do with your child.

Topic: Quarreling

Read:   Proverbs 17:14

Ask: 

  • What would happen if someone made a tiny little hole in a dam that was holding in tons of water?
  • How long do you think it would take before the little hole became a big hole that would eventually break apart making the hole dam collapse sending water everywhere?

Discuss:  This is what arguing is like.  It may start out as a tiny little thing, but easily grow into a huge fight.

Read:

Ask:

  • How did God bless Isaac for not arguing with the Philistine herdsmen?
  • When is the best time to stop an argument?

Pray together and ask God to help you be peacemakers like Isaac.

To His Glory!

Dana

pebbles.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. Deanna Taylor permalink
    November 12, 2007 11:00 pm

    How I needed that today! My husband just arrived home fom work and asked what I did all day. I responded, “School and break up fights.” I am altogether weary. I think I’ll do that lesson tomorrow morning. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

