Skip to content

Do you have an Ebenezer?

September 29, 2007

 

Do you know the old hymn, “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing“?  It has always been one of my favorites, but there was something in the second verse that I just didn’t get, but never really questioned until recently. 

The second verse says, ” Here I raise mine Ebenezer; Hither by they help I’m come…”

So, I wondered what is an “Ebenezer”?  Well, I googled it, found out & was really excited by what I found.

1 Samuel 7:12 – 14, says, “Then Samuel took a stone and set it up between Mizpah and Jeshanah, and named it Ebenezer; for he said, “Thus far the LORD has helped us.” So the Philistines were subdued and did not again enter the territory of Israel; the hand of the LORD was against the Philistines all the days of Samuel. The towns that the Philistines had taken from Israel were restored to Israel, from Ekron to Gath; and Israel recovered their territory from the hand of the Philistines. There was peace also between Israel and the Amorites.”  (NRSV)

Ebenezer  is a combination of 2 Hebrew words that literally means stone of help.  I love that!  Samuel  set up this stone as a reminder of the Lord’s help.  It was a physical, in your face reminder that God had not forgotten about them, he had helped them by subduing the Philistines.

river-pebbles.jpg

What do you have as your Ebenezer?  Do you have something that reminds you of the everlasting love & mercy of your God?  I actually have some stones that I keep on my bathroom counter that are a reminder to me that God helps me everyday.  These stones are not perfect as I am not perfect, but they have been polished as I am being polished by my Lord to become the women that he can use to His Glory!  I hold these stones often in my hand as I pray, thanking the Lord for his love in my life.  Thanking him for his goodness, mercy and wisdom.  I thank him that even when I feel as though I am all alone, I know that he is helping me and guiding me along.

If you don’t have an Ebenezer, get one.  Find something that reminds you of God’s help in your life.  Sometimes we need a physical reminder in front of us that God is there & he already knows what we are going through.  Then we can praise him & thank him for his goodness in our life.

My flesh and my heart may fail,
       but God is the strength of my heart
       and my portion forever.

Psalm 73:26 (NIV)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2007 8:33 pm

    We do have an Ebenezer. It is a triangular stone that sits in our front yard. We discovered it in our previous home, when Come, Thou Fount was the favorite hymn of our middle daughter, and it moved with us to our new home four years ago.

    Thanks for the reminder! Sometimes those objects we see every day tend to become “invisible.

    God bless.

  2. Deanna Taylor permalink
    October 5, 2007 12:45 am

    That’s cool! I don’t remember hearing about that before, but I did begin a bowl of stones for our family with a similar purpose. They are meant to represent the “stones of rememberance” that Joshua set up after crossing the Jordan river. I have attached a symbol, verse and date to each one, (yes, decoupage is good for something!:) and keep them in a pretty pottery bowl so that my kids can ask me about any of them and I can tell them the corresponding stories about God’s faithfulness and guidance toward our family over the years. I’m glad for your reminder–I”m way behind!

  3. Nicole Silvernail permalink
    October 24, 2007 9:41 am

    I have Pictures with scripture on them around my home that remind me of God’s love for me, my husband, and my son. I kind of think as these as my personal Ebenezer. You know, this is a wonderful idea as a Christmas gift to those that are alone in this world. That is working and traveling and has no one to come home to. I am going to print this off, put in on a nice piece of paper and pick out a beautiful stone and place in all in a small little box as a reminder of God’s love. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Love Nicole

Trackbacks

  1. Vincent Hunter: Photography and more…

Leave a Reply

