Skip to content

Girlfriends

September 14, 2007

 As women we are so relational.  We need others around us most of the time.  We don’t even like going to public bathroom by ourselves.  Having close friends to talk to is very important to us.

 If you filled a room with women the conversations would turn to our children, husbands, or other friends.  A room full of men would be the totally opposite.  If they were talking to one another, the conversation would probably be about the last ball game, favorite brand of concrete or last hunting expedition; nothing real personal, just talk. 

Romans 12:15-16

 “Rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep.  Be of the same mind toward one another.  Do not set your mind on high things, but associate with the humble.  Do not be wise in your own opinion.”

How blessed we are when we have friends who will cry with us & laugh with us.  I have a friend like this.  She and I have a lot in common.  The biggest thing we have in common is that we both have 10 kids.  We love meeting together at IHOP around 8:00 at night & staying until our husbands start calling, which is usually around 1 or 2:00 a.m.  It is great.  We laugh until we are about to pee in our pants (which isn’t that hard after having 10 babies) and then we will cry until we just have no more tears. She knows things about me that I wouldn’t want just anyone to know & she still loves me! Only she can understand how I can do 6 loads of laundry everyday & still stay behind.  She understands my thrill at watching my kids grow up and not wanting them too.  She understands how I can have so many kids and still hope to have more…now that is a friend!  She has never asked me “Why would you want more?” because we have the same mindset about our families.  We both always have at least one broken window in our house & she doesn’t freak out when she see’s her baby eating a sandwich off of the floor.  We both know that they will survive! (If you are wondering why the sandwich was on the floor, you don’t have enough kids) When I had a miscarriage a few years ago she cried with me and when she had a miscarriage this year I cried with her.

The part I think I love most about my friend is that she is the first one to tell you that she really doesn’t know much about being a mom.  She lives everyday seeking the wisdom & guidance of her Lord and resting in his grace.  She gets a lot of questions like I do about how to raise her kids & her humble attitude is so encouraging.  She always makes the questioning mom feel as though she is doing something right and encourages her to press on.  Does she know a lot about raising kids?  Absolutely, but she has a very humble attitude about it because she knows that it is truly only by the grace of God that any of her kids will turn out o.k.

I chose her as my friend.  Yes, we met and really hit it off, but I chose to spend more time with her.  I wanted to get to know her better & she felt the same way.  I had prayed for a long time for a friend who would do more than just understand my crazy life as a mom of many kids, but I needed a friend who would encourage me in my relationship with the Lord and challenge me in my walk.  She has taught me so much about the Lord and cheered me on to publish my writings and speak to moms about the Lord.

What kind of friendships do you have?  Do your friends encourage you in the Word and in your walk with Christ or do they distract you from him?  Be careful how you choose your friends.  If you don’t have any close girlfriends, pray and ask the Lord for some.  He will bring them, just make sure you are looking for them.

Tell me about your girlfriends.  Has the Lord placed a friend in your life just when you needed her support & encouragement?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

