Skip to content

Are You Flexible?

September 3, 2007

This year in our Family Bible Study time we are spending a week or so on  different character traits.  We are going through the scriptures studying people who did or didn’t portray the character trait and what were the blessings or consequences of their actions.  Then we also look at animals and how they may portray a specific trait.  It has been really fun & interesteing and a time of growth for all of us.

Well, the first character trait we studied was “Flexibility”.  We studied about Martha who flunked her test in flexibility when she became angry and frustrated when Mary was just sitting at Jesus feet rather than in the kitchen working.  Then we read about Moses who obeyed God and returned to Egypt to lead his people out of slavery even though he felt so unqualified.

I was amazed as our study of flexibility continued at how each of us were tested in different ways in our flexibility.  I have always thought of myself to be a fairly flexible person.  I can go with the flow to a certain extent, but this study showed me that my actions may show flexibility, but I’m not very flexible in my thoughts.

When my plans have to change, I may go ahead & flow with the new plans, but I am grumbling all the way.  On the outside others see me as peaceful & calm when on the inside I may be screaming, “I want my way.”  This is just as wrong as not being flexible in my actions.

Here are some points I gave my kids to remember, but in all reality, I needed them just as bad.  These are 5 ways that we can exhibit flexibility.

  1. I will not get upset when plans change.  Learn to use self-control & patience
  2. I will look for the good in changes rather than focusing on the bad.
  3. I will respect the decisions of my authorities.
  4. I will not be stubborn
  5. I will not compromise what is right by yielding to changes that are wrong. (wrong kind of flexibility)

I printed these out and put them up where they would see them everyday.  A very good reminder for me also.

Colossians 3:1,2

Since, then, you have been raised wtih Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.  Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

 

I know that when my heart & mind are truly set on Christ then I don’t have an issue with flexibility.  So, when I am stubborn & selfish, whining because my plans are not working out I know that my mind is set on me, not HIM.

 

How flexible are you these days?

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

