Skip to content

Hiding God’s Word in Your Heart

August 24, 2007

Psalm 119:11

 “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

When a soldier goes into battle does he walk out wearing his blue jeans and tennis shoes?  Of course not, he is prepared for battle.  He is armed with many different defense mechanisms.  He has a gun; he wears a helmet and special boots.  Often he wears a bullet proof vest to protect his chest.  Could he still get hurt?  Of course he can.  But what would his chances be of getting hurt if he did not wear protective gear?  It doesn’t take a scholar to know that his chances are much greater, and death is almost guaranteed.

God’s Word is our protective gear.  When we hide his word in our heart we are armed for battle.  When we study it, memorize it and believe it we reduce our chances of sinning.  I did not say that we won’t sin; I just said that we reduce our chances, just like the soldier reduces his chances of getting hurt in battle. 

I remember many times as a young girl my parents requiring me to memorize scripture.  I always thought they were so cruel.  But those same verses that I had to memorize as a child are still with me today.  Some I only remember bits & pieces, or I remember the verse but not the reference, but the words are still in my heart.  And so many times as I was tempted with sin one of those verses would come to my mind.  Then I had a choice; do I take that verse & obey it by fleeing from the temptation or do I set it aside and do what makes me feel good even if only for a fleeting moment?  It isn’t an easy choice at times, but as a believer we have the ability to resist and remain pure.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2007 6:44 am

    Hi Dana! My hubby and I both love Psalm 119 too! The Scriptures I memorized as a child come to me easier than the ones I learned as an adult. Also, as an adult, I find I only seem to retain the ones if I put them to music and sing them over and over.

    This truly is so important. You bring up great points dear sister!

    Blessings and love to you and your family!

  2. tharian m kurian permalink
    November 10, 2007 7:26 am

    hi. Dana
    prayerful greetings.
    i am person who love psalm 119 very much.
    i am trying to by heart psalm 119 in my mother toungue
    i completed about 100 verses if you could give me some guidlines and help me to find some good friends who can share prayers and ideas will be a great help.

    May God bless you and your family abundently

    lovingly tharian m kurian

Leave a Reply

