Skip to content

Take Heed of God’s Word

August 20, 2007

I am working my way through Psalm 119 right now by way of a great book titled, “The Heart of the King” by Ron Auch.  It is a small book that takes one verse a day and he leads you into a deeper meditation of the scriptures.  I am loving it.  This has inspired a series of blog posts on ways to remain pure using Psalm 119 as a guide.  Here is the first one & hope to have more soon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TAKE HEED OF GOD’S WORD

“How can a young man keep his way pure?

  By living according to your word.”

Psalm 119:9

We are “taking heed” when we are paying attention to, listening, eager to learn, and following closely.  God’s Word is so full of instruction for us that you can’t grasp everything the first time through.  His word must be read & studied over and over & you will still never get it all.  But that is the fun part.  You will never know it all or understand it all until you are face to face with him.  I knew a very wise woman that even in her 90’s she was excited about learning new things from the Bible.  She is now face to face with her Savior, she is now complete.  But, just reading it isn’t enough.  We must live according to His Word also.  Seeing a stop sign doesn’t do you much good if you don’t stop.  God’s word is more than traffic signals in your life.  It is a complete GPS System.  Sadly many do not see the Bible as applicable to their lives today.  How can something written thousands of years ago help me today.  Because God knew you when first inspired these words to the authors.   Psalm 139:16 says,  “your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”  Very awesome!!  Reading His word and then taking heed, doing it, is our first step to living a pure and blameless life.  Not easy, but we have the best example ever, Jesus Christ.  By keeping our eyes on him and living according to His Word we are on the path to purity.

Father, help me to keep my way pure and blameless.  Help me to love you with my whole being so that I can live according to your word.  Show me where I need to repent and change.  How great and awesome is your name!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

