Skip to content

A Thief in My Home

August 20, 2007

I have a thief in my home.  He has stolen many things very precious to me.  He has stolen time.  He has stolen conversations.  He has prevented the making of memories. Who is this thief?

My computer, TV and sometimes even my books.

John 10:10, The thief comes only to steal, kill, and destroy, but I come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” (NIV)

Most of what I do is geared around my computer.  Our school schedules, lesson plans and records are on the computer.  I do a lot of writing so when I get an idea off to my computer I go.  Often I don’t even know how long I have been here.  I realized how bad it was one day when I was in the kitchen and I noticed that everytime one of my kids was looking for me they went to my room where my computer is.  They just assumed I would be at my computer.

 So, now that we have started back to school I am not on it as much because I am teaching.  But I have begun to make a conscious effort to only spend an hour a day at my computer.  Whatever I get done I get done, and then I get up.  I don’t do that last little search on google or check that favorite blog.  I just get up.  If at the end of the day, I have everything done & my husband is busy somewhere else then I may sit down again at my computer to do a little writing. 

 I refuse to let this thief rob me of any more precious moments.  I have prayed over this and asked the Lord for help.  I know he is there, because today went much better.  My boys ran in the front door and into my room and I was not at my computer!!! 

What do you have that is robbing you of precious time?  If you are not sure, ask your family.  They know what it is!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

