Skip to content

A little R&R

July 23, 2007

How long has it been since you had some quiet time to yourself?

I know that I don’t get it very often.  Just taking the time to sit and write this post seemed almost impossible.  Kids who were normally in bed asleep were not asleep.  My 7 year old was convinced that I hated him because I sent him to bed 10 minutes early for disobeying me.  My 2 year old is afraid of a dog in her closet and my 5 year old fell asleep on my bed, not in his bed.  All I wanted to do was have a little time to myself with just me and my Bible.

Mark 6:31, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”

 

Jesus is inviting the apostles to come with him and get some rest.  I like to read that verse as a personal invitiation from my Jesus to get away and get some rest.  He wants me to come to him in prayer and through reading his scriptures and he will give me rest. 

REST!

QUIET!

I MUST  BE DREAMING!

No, our Lord knows how important it is for the mom to get some rest.  We must get replenished and renewed so that we can care for our family.  Jesus knew that if the apostles were to be effective in the ministry to others, they needed rest in a quiet place.

 

Sometimes my quiet place is sitting in my closet.  That is the only place I can find.  I have had many great times of prayer and worship in my closet.  I live in a very busy house and finding a solitary place is very valuable.  I treasure my solitary quiet time.  I Do my best to make time for it, but it doesn’t always happen the way I want it to.  But my Jesus is so amazing that he will meet me where ever I am.  When I am nursing a baby or doing the dishes or even folding the clothes, I can find rest in my Jesus. 

 

It is still important to make that time to get away for a time of quiet, even if it is just 5 minutes.  But when it doesn’t happen the way you plan for it to, know that your Lord will meet you anywhere, anytime.

 

daisydazzelsm.jpg

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

