Skip to content

The Glory of Your Husband

June 11, 2007

I heard a visiting preacher at our church give a very simple definition of “glory”.  He said it is, “to make look good“.  I love that!  Our purpose as God’s creation is to glorify him.  We are to make him look good.Did you know that we are also to glorify our husbands?  We are to make them look good. 1 Corinthian 11:7-9 says, “A man…is the image and glory of God; but a woman is the glory of man.  For man did not come from woman, but woman from man; neither was man created for woman, but woman for man.”

So how can we, as godly wives, be the glory of our husbands?  I have three ways.  There are many more, but these are a good starting place.

The first way is through our speech about them and in front of them.  We should sing our husbands praise to our friends, not put him down, and reveal all of his faults.  Have you ever listened to a woman complain about her husband?  It doesn’t sound good & it doesn’t look good either.  Also, when my husband and I are with friends I need to be careful of the conversation I make so not to embarrass him.  I am really bad at opening my mouth and talking then to see a look of shock and disbelief on his face.  You just can’t take it back once it is out of your mouth.

How we manage our home is the glory of our husband.  If we are disorganized, the home is chaotic and loud; this doesn’t not say much for how we think o four husband. I struggle with clutter all the time.  My mom will tell you it is a family trait.  I try not to let it get too bad, at least not so bad that it can’t be dealt with quickly if someone is coming over.  My husband is so sweet to not gripe about the house. He just quietly moves the stack of laundry over so he can sit down to watch TV.  But I know it is important to him to have a peaceful place to come home to everyday, so I try to create that for him by managing my home efficiently.  The kids have chores & responsibilities to help out and that has helped take a lot of the burden off of me.

Lastly, how we keep ourselves is the glory of our husband.  The way we dress reflects our husband more than we realize.  When we are trying to dress in a way that will impress our husbands, most often we are also impressing other men around us.  We have to be careful and responsible.  I ran into a friend a few nights ago and we stopped to chat.  However; I had a really hard time listening to her because of the low cut blouse she was wearing.  The whole time she was talking I kept thinking, “Pull up your shirt.  Get a different shirt.  Did your husband know you walked out like that?”  I didn’t feel comfortable enough to speak to her about it, but I hope one of her closer friends did.  Remember that we are also to glorify God, even in our dress.  It isn’t always easy, but it is possible to dress stylish and still modestly also.  

“But a married woman is concerned about the affairs of this world – how she can please her husband.  I am saying this for your own good, not to restrict you, but that you may live in a right way in undivided devotion to the Lord.”  (1 Corinthian 7:34,35 – NIV)

As believers our first devotion is to our Lord Jesus.  We are to first be concerned with pleasing the Lord, then with pleasing our husbands.  We are to love God with all our heart, soul and mind. (Matthew 22:37)   When we love God like we should then we will love our husband like we should.  We will conduct ourselves in a way that makes our husband look good.  We will want to submit to his leadership.  We will want to serve him out of love, not obligation.  We will respect him and he will know it.  But is it that easy?  Of course not!  It is easier for me to clean house, wash clothes and cook meals that to love my God as he commanded.  Why?  Because of my GIANT sin nature that keeps getting in the say.  It is easier for me to do things that will make me look good to others than take on a change of heart and habit that will make God look good.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t love him, it just means that I only love him with parts of me, not all of me.  Then I only love my husband with parts of me and not all of me.  But, I am so blessed to belong to a loving and merciful Savior who love me anyway and forgives me.  I am also blessed to belong to a wonderful and merciful husband who loves me, sin and all!

Scott & Dana

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

