Skip to content

The Pursuit of Joy

June 5, 2007

“Consider it pure joy my brethern when you face trials of many kinds.”

James 1:2

 

For a long time I never really understood this verse.  It didn’t make sense to me that as a christian you were supposed to consider your trials as joy.  I began searching for the true meaning of joy.  I wanted the inside scoop. 

 

At the time we were in the midst of some of the most difficult circumstances we had ever faced.  I really wanted to know how to have joy in the midst of it all.  I knew it was possible.  My true desire was for God to be glorified through our struggles, I just wasn’t sure about the joy part.

 

I found that it is not a feeling. 

 

It is a state of mind. 

 

It is a place to dwell. 

 

It is God, himself.

 

By knowing God deeper and attaining a new understanding of him I began to experience true joy, even with the winds of adversity whirling around me.  My search for joy turned into a renewed search for God and truly knowing him. 

 

When you understand what real joy is then you can face anything, even the cross.

 

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the JOY set before him endured the cross.”

Hebrew 12:2 (NIV)

 

My trials and difficulties are so minor compared to the cross that Jesus didn’t just face, but died on.  But we can be encouraged by the fact that, “The joy of the Lord is our strength.” (Nehemiah 8:10)

 

His joy is what strengthens us to face any trial.

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

