Skip to content

Be Prepared

May 29, 2007

On the morning of May 29, 2007 a mom in Texas hung her 4 young children and herself in her closet.  She was discovered by her own sister.  What a gruesome scene that must have been.  A scene she will never be able to get out of her mind. 

2 years earlier a mom in the same town shot her 2 kids.

Andrea Yates drowned her 5 children.

Deanna Schlosser severed her baby girls arms causing her to bleed to death.

What is going on???  Are you as sickened by all of this as I am? 

Many years ago I had drifted from the Lord.  I was not reading his word, nor was I praying & seeking his guidance.  I had several small children and felt very overwhelmed most of my days.  I felt all alone, like my life was lost.  I felt useless to others & at times thought there was no hope for things to get better.  Many times I just wanted to walk away from all of it.  I thought that everyone would be much better off if I just got in my car and drove away.  But I never felt tempted to kill my children, not myself.  So, why are these moms all reaching a point of no return in their life by killing their own children.  It is so hard to imagine and understand.

I totally believe that as mothers, we are under attack by Satan.  He is alive and very real and on the prowl.  He wantes nothing better than to destroy the christian family.  His favorite place to start is with us moms.  We are the central heartbeat of our family.  Our husbands are the leaders, but we are the nurturing ones and if we fall apart then so can everyone else.  We are the relationship builders of the family.  It is just the way God created it.

So how do we remain strong and able to defend against the attacks Satan will use on us? 

Ephesians 6:10-13 says it best.

 10″Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.”

If I am to be prepared for the trials that will come in my life I have to soak myself in God’s word & know his ways.  I have to know without a second thought that he loves me and will fight for me.  If I am not prepared then I will fall.  I will be depressed or fearful of the future.  I will not nurture nor train my children in the ways of the Lord.  I will not be the wife my husband needs so that he can lead our family.  This is what Satan wants. 

Read the rest of the 6th chapter of Ephesians.  http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=ephesians%206;&version=31;

It tells you the steps to get prepared. You can do a word study on these to gain a deeper understanding of the importance.

I don’t know if the moms who killed their children knew the Lord.  But they should be a huge reminder to us how dangerous it can be to be a mother these days. 

Please, if you are having feelings of despair or depression please talk to someone.  Don’t think you must suffer alone.  Galations 6:2 says to “carry one anothers burdens”.  If you don’t have some one you can ask for help from then email me.  We must help each other.  We are not fighting against each other we are fighting against evil.  We need the support of each other. 

By God’s grace & mercy, we can build our homes to His Glory!! 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 21, 2007 4:56 pm

    Hi Dana,

    Thank you for reading my blog and leaving a comment. I really appreciate what you said in this article. I went through some tough times right during the time that Andrea Yates drowned her children, but, like you, I never dreamed of doing anything like that. It absolutely horrified me. I felt like I was having to do way too much, but I was able to turn to the Lord. I’m so grateful. I believe that she was under so much bondage that she thought she had to be perfect and her kids had to be perfect and she wasn’t and they weren’t, so she thought she had already ruined them, so she wanted to kill them before they turned out badly. Can you believe that? What twisted thinking! I kept turning to the Lord over and over again. He was so faithful to carry me and to cause changes in my own thinking and in my husband’s thinking, so that we could adjust our expectations and our behaviors and become the parents that He wants us to be, and our children would be allowed to learn and grow without the bondage of unrealistic expectations. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts. It does sound like we’ve had very similar experiences.
    Your post about spiritual warfare is right on. We (the children and I) have started putting on our armor every day together. My oldest son (16) leads us in it. It has been awesome. He quotes lots of scripture and we feel really covered and ready for whatever the day may hold. The enemy definitely is attacking families and moms specifically. I sensed a strong attack on men in the past. Now it seems that mothers are being targeted – especially homeschool moms. Those are the moms I have the most contact with. I know many who seem very discouraged and depressed. It seems that many are dealing with children with terrible behavior issues stemming from physical problems. But I wonder if some of those are more spiritual than physical. I have been praying for homeschool moms in recent months, because I have felt very burdened for so many of them. Thank you for writing about your life and using your experiences to encourage other moms. We all need each other. It’s good to meet you. I’ll be coming back to see what’s going on with you in the future.

    Penney

Leave a Reply

