Skip to content

Who Do You Copy?

April 23, 2007

“Mom!  Gracie is copying me!”

My 5 year old comes running in the room yelling at the top of his lungs while his little sister is following close behind.

“Mom, Gracie is copy me!” 2 year old Gracie yells next.

This is a common cry in our house.  Gracie wants to do what Zachary does, while Zachary wants to do what Ben does, while Ben wants to do what Austin does, and on up the sibling ladder we climb.   They all want to be like someone else.

The other day Zachary asked me, “Mom, who do you copy?”

Ephesians 5:1, “Be imitators of God, therefore as dearly loved children.”

I thought, that is a great question.  I told him that I try to copy Jesus because he was so good at loving and helping everyone.  Jesus never did anything wrong and I want to try to be like him.  Then I thought, but do I really copy or imitate Christ?  Do my children see him in me?  I could be a physical Jesus to them.  They have a hard time understanding the spiritual concepts, but when mom & dad are living according to God’s word and are treating others the way Christ would then the children can understand what it means to be imitators of God.

The real sad part is that Christians have a bad reputation.  In the business world, my husband has been cheated on and lied to by more christians than from non-christians.  When did we christians decide that the world “owes” us something?  Remember the phrase What Would Jesus Do?  There is a lot of wisdom in that.  We have the knowledge of God’s word and that is a great place to start, but wisdom is when we apply and live out what we know.

Who do you copy?  If you were to ask your kids, who know you better than anyone,who would they say you copy? 

 Are you an imitator of God?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2007 11:44 pm

    Thank you again! I have been aware of this very thing this week, and humbled yet again. Just yesterday I had to ask forgiveness all around for being so un-gentle with everyone. My moods are so variable, and my poor kids just get pulled along for the ride. It crushes me when they say, “Mama, I don’t like it when you’re mad,” and they pull back from me. What am I teaching them about our loving Father? God, forgive me! And He does. Again. And as I, the tempermantal child, look into His gentle face of patient forgiving love, I see. . .”This is what it looks like. This is who He is. I am overwhelmed.” Lord, grant me the grace to look into your face and be changed by it–that I may better reflect you to everyone in my path.

    Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

