Skip to content

Finding God in Your Busy Day

March 14, 2007

Can You have a “Quiet time” with small children?

Absolutely! Is it easy? No way! My experience has been that there is no easy formula to having a quiet time when your children are still living at home. Since all of my children are still at home right now then it is still hard for me. But I can’t let that be my excuse for not making the time. But I have learned that I MUST make time for it. I want to share with you a few tips that I hope will make it seem more possible.

1. Pray & ask God to show you time in your day when you can spend studying his word. He will reveal pockets of time. Or he may show you things in your day that you need to weed out because they are not that important and get in the way of your relationship with him. (like General Hospital at 2:00)

2. Before you get out of bed in the morning, begin praising God for giving you a new day to worship him. Ask him for strength & guidance for your day. Just have a God party right there in bed. There is no such thing as getting up on the wrong side of the bed when you start out like that.

3. Write or print scripture cards and stick them up where you spend the most time. For me I have some by the kitchen sink, my bathroom sink and my computer. This has really helped me to meditate on his word through out the day.

4. Pray all day! I don’t mean to sit with your head bowed all day, but stay in conversation with your Lord. It is great! My kids don’t accuse me of talking to myself anymore; they know I’m probably praying. And if I am talking to myself, they think I am praying! I love it. I often pray for my neighbors when I look out & see their house or I pray for a friend or my husband that comes to my mind. At Christmas time, we pray for those who send us Christmas cards. And pray Gods words back to him. He loves to hear his words of praise & wisdom spoken. They bring great peace & joy also.

5. Keep your Bible open and available. That way you can grab short moments in your day to read. Ruth Graham, wife to Billy Graham did this. She raised 5 children and still found time to read the Bible.

6. Teach scripture to your kids, have regular devotions with them and pray with them. I can’t tell you how many times the Holy Spirit has spoke to me in a huge way while sharing devotion with my children. It has been literally life changing for me!

7. Memorize scripture with your kids. We often have our own family competitions in scripture memory. My kids blow me away at how many scripture they can learn in a week. I can’t keep up with them, but I try.

8. Commit to 5 minutes of prayer a day. If you don’t have 5 minutes a day then you are way to busy. Are you nursing a baby? There is at least 15 minutes right there! Do you go to the bathroom? What are you doing between midnight and six in the morning? (that’s a joke ) Anyway, you will be amazed at the difference that 5 minutes of concentrated prayer will make in your life.

9. Use a book with devotions & scripture already written out that you can read quickly.  Sometimes I use a devotional book & then other times I just begin reading a book in the Bible & let the Lord lead me through & teach me as I go through it.

10. Warning! Time with the Lord is habit forming! Once you get in a routine of coming to the Lord everyday & praying it can be hard to change. You begin to see how desperately you need this time. You will begin to wonder how you ever got through a day without it. You will desperately miss it when you don’t do it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

