Skip to content

Bumper Crop

March 13, 2007

For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call upon me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.  Jeremiah 29:11-13

  

1wm_vegetables_075-thumb.jpg

I’ve made an attempt at a garden for the past three years.  I stress the word “attempt” because I haven’t been very successful at it.  The first year we planted corn, beans, okra, cantaloupe & maybe a few others.  Out of that planting we got a few beans and lots of okra.  The corn suffered an untimely death by the hands of my son who mistook them for weeds.  Everything else was eaten by the grasshoppers.  The next two years we tried to plant a little more, but again we failed. I would look out at my garden from my kitchen and wonder, “Why won’t this garden do what I want it to.  I plant the seeds, I hoe the weeds, I water, I do everything I know to do but still it is a flop.”Have you ever looked at your children like this? You do everything you think that you know to do & they just won’t cooperate.  I love my kids and I love spending time with them, but some days….I tell them over and over and over and it seems as if they will never obey.  I’ve even had days when I look at a particular child and wonder if God really meant for me to raise this child or was he supposed to go to another family that would better know what to do with him.  But since God makes no mistakes then I know I am supposed to be this child’s mother.  The Lord is so good to remind me that if I will seek him and follow him then he will take care of the rest.  If I will just love and nurture the seeds that he has given me they will bloom into beautiful plants.   His timing is perfect and so is his will and plan for us.  We live in a very hurried society today, we have a really hard time waiting on anything especially God, yet we still say, “God knows best.”  We take our requests to Him but if he doesn’t answer or change that child in our timing we get anxious.  Our garden (family) will prosper when we call on Him.  We will bear much fruit through Him when we seek Him with all our heart. I think I am getting out of the actual garden business, it’s not my thing.  But the spiritual garden that the Lord is planting for me is sprouting.  I still have weeds in it that He is helping me with, but by His grace I know it will be a bumper crop one of these days.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

