Skip to content

His Compassions

March 8, 2007

Lamentations 3:22 – 26

“Because of the Lords great love, we are not consumed for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning.  Great is your faithfulness, I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”  The Lord is good to those whoe hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” (NIV)

 

This verse is on a card and taped by my computer.  Sometimes it is by the kitchen sink & sometimes it is by my bathroom sink.  I keep it close by because I need to be reminded so often that “his compassions never fail.” , “I will not be consumed”, “The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him.”  If I don’t keep these kinds of things in front of me then before you know it I am in my closet with a bag of chocolate crying about how bad my life is.  God loves to crash my pity parties.  He loves to remind me that I’m frustrated because once again I tried to do things my way rather than his.  I try to add things into my life that take me away from the Lord and my family.  These are good things, most of the time, but they are still things that shouldn’t be there.  He want me to be quiet, seek him and wait for his salvation rather than try to save myself. 

  Somtimes things we feel consumed by things are not our fault.  Whether is something minor like sick kids or something so horrible we don’t want to imagine it happening but it does anyway, God promises us that we will not be consumed by it.  It can’t destroy us if we put our trust and hope in him. 

 

What do you feel consumed by?  Have you told your Heavenly Father?

We are reminded in 1 Peter 5:7 “To cast all our anxiety or cares upon him, because he cares for you.”  


Lord Jesus,
We thank you and praise you for your amazing and eternal love for us.  We spend so much of our day giving ourselves away that is a great comfort to be reminded that you really do care for us too.  We thank you that it is because of your never ending love for us that we will not be consumed by our circumstances.  God, help us to place our hope and trust in you so that we can experience you in a new way every day.  You are our portion, you are all we need. Draw us near to you.  Keep us from adding things into our life that we do not need; things that could draw us away from you or our families.  Help us Lord that we would become consumed by your greatness and faithfulness to us rather than the things of this world that are only meant to destroy us.  We praise you O God for your salvation.  You have done great things for us, you have made us mothers!  What an amazing gift that is.  Be in our hearts and minds always
Lord Jesus, because we love you.  Amen.
 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

