Skip to content

Do Not Be Afraid

February 27, 2007

January 30, 2001,  I was in bondage.  I had a fear that I would lose my husband & children.   I was afraid that something horrible would happen & they would be taken away from me.  This fear was a result of a car accident that I was involved in.  I knew that the only reason we had not died that day was because of the protection of the Lord, but still I was afraid that it would happen again & the next time would be worse.  I spent my days in fear & depression and it was horrible.

One week, Scott was leaving to go on a short trip to Austin.  He was driving alone, but meeting friends up there.  I remember the anxiety that swelled up inside of me as I watched his truck go down the driveway.  I prayed over and over that God would please just bring him back to me safe.  That night I couldn’t sleep.  I was so afraid that Scott wouldn’t come back.  I imagined all kinds of horrible things that could happen.  I finally prayed out loud, “God!  I am so afraid!  Where are you?”  At that moment I felt the Holy Spirit direct me to open my Bible to Isaiah 43.  I hadn’t experienced the Spirit talking to me like that before, but I opened my Bible anyway & this is what it said.

But now, O Israel, the Lord who created you says; Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.  I have called you by name, you are mine.  When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you.  When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown!  When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. –Others died that you might live.  I traded their lives for yours because you are precious to me.  You are honored, and I love you.” (NLT, Isaiah 43:1,2 & 4)

WOW!  I couldn’t believe it.  God was telling me through what he told Isaiah thousands of years before that he doesn’t want me afraid.  He will protect me & when (not if) I go through difficult times he will be there.  I am precious to him and he loves me.  I can’t tell you how powerful that was to me at that time.  I was in the pit of a deep depression and felt totally abandoned by God.  I realized then that my fears were not of God.  The fears that I had were of the enemy.

Is there anything you are afraid of?   Are you afraid that something will happen to your kids ?  What if your husband left you?  What if your parents died? What if your husband lost his job and your lifestyle had to totally changed?   What if…what if…what if?  God doesn’t want us living like that.  “For God did not give us a spirit of fear, but of love, power and self control”. (2 Timothy 1:7 NET Bible)  If we spend all our time worrying about things like that it robs us of our joy that the Lord has for us to live in.

The Lord did free me from my depression and I don’t live in fear anymore.  But that time in my life was only preparing me for an even more difficult time ahead.  The Lord used that to show me that it is not only possible to live in His peace and joy during difficult times but it is the only way to live if you are going to glorify him and grow in him.

Prayer:

Father God, I thank you again for showing me my fears.  I thank you for the life of joy and peace that you have made possible for me as long as I trust you.  I thank you for your protection in my life and for your love.  Help me daily to give you my fears and worries so that I can live in your joy.  I admit that those little “what if” thoughts still creep back into my mind and I need your strength to rebuke them.  I praise you  because you are El Shaddai, the All-Sufficient One.  I thank you that you are Jehovah-rapha, the Lord who Heals me.  You say that you will not forsake those who seek you Lord.  Thank you for that promise.  A~Men.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 7:02 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

