Skip to content

Good Plans Gone Bad

February 20, 2007

I started this week off with high expectations.  I had already decided that we would take a week off from school and we would get caught up on house work and I would get some planning done for the rest of the school year.  My “to do” list was full and long.  Then it all came to a screaching halt Sunday night when a stomach bug hit our house full force!  By Monday morning I had 3 kids throwing up and more feeling like they needed to, including me.  This is not what I wanted to do on my week off.

My day was full of scrubbing bathroom floors, washing laundry, scrubbing more floors, nursing a baby(I like that one) and tending to sick kids.  I was frustrated to say the least.  And then as if I had time, I had a disturbing conversation with a friend that bothered me for the rest of the day.  By the time my husband came home I was a horrible mess.  I was cranky, dirty and not happy with the fact that he didn’t come home as early as I wanted him to.  Needless to say I fell into my bed & fell asleep really fast that night.

Today, I woke up dreading to relive my yesterday.   Thankfully though the bug was a short lived one & most everyone was feeling a lot better so I tried to accomplish a little of what was on my list.  As I sat on the floor in my room going through baby clothes to send to a friend I couldn’t get yesterdays conversation with my friend out of my mind.  I began to pray for her and ask God how I could help her.  I was so overcome with emotion and just begged God to please show me what to do, if I was to do anything.  After a few moments I got up and went to my computer to check on a few emails.  A message came up that I really didn’t care about, but her signature in her email is what caught my eye.  It said,”Let him have all your worries and cares, for He is always thinking about you and watching everything that concerns you. 1Peter 5:7″  I knew that verse, “Cast all your cares on him because he cares for you.”  I had never heard it put that way before though.

“Thank you Lord” I prayed, “I’m so glad you are thinking about me today and everyday, because I feel lost in my circumstances right now.”  A peace fell on me once I was able to really let go of my expectations of my day and of my friend.  In Psalm 55:22 it says that he will sustain us when we cast our cares on him and in Hebrews 13:5 we are reminded that he will never leave us or forsake us.  I realized that he is also watching over my friend that has strayed from him and he is thinking about her also, because he loves her just as much as he loves me. 

I love that he cares and wants to sustain me even when I am scrubbing bathroom floors.  I love that he wants us to give him our worries and cares because he is our father and that is his job.  I love that he is always watching over me just like I try to watch over my children.  He is our Abba Father!

Prayer:

Abba Father, I come to asking your forgiveness for trying to carry my own worries & cares.  I’m sorry for once again trying to handle things on my own.   I was reminded this week that I can make as many plans as I want to, but it is your plan that will be accomplished in the end.  I didn’t want to spend my week caring for sick kids, but you showed me this is what you do for me all the time.  Thank you for your love and grace as it sustains me and holds me up.  A~Men.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

