Skip to content

*10 Ways to Love your Man

February 14, 2007

Today is Valentine’s Day, so I can’t help but think about how much I love my man, Scott.  Today is our 17th Valentine’s Day and I know I love him more now than I did our first Valentine’s Day.  It has always been easy to love him, sometimes not too easy to like him, but even then I have never feared whether he loved me or not.

My mom has been an excellent example to me as how to love my husband.  My parents just celebrated their 39th wedding anniversary and they are even crazier in love now than 39 years ago.  I have learned a lot from my mom, not just through her wise council but by her example.

Here are a few things I have learned about loving my man;

  1. Start your day in prayer for your man.  Pray blessings of wisdom, discernment and protection on him.  Ask God what your husband needs from you.
  2. Tell him you love him everyday.
  3. Tell him you are proud of him everyday.(this means as much if not more than “I love you”)
  4. Hug & cuddle everyday. Don’t be afraid to hug & kiss in front of your kids.  They need to see their parents love each other.  Just don’t get carried away.  My son often tells us, “Get a room!” when we kiss.
  5. Kiss everyday
  6. Walk him to his car in the morning when he is leaving for work.
  7. Email him or call him to see how his day is going.
  8. If you can, put on a clean shirt & comb your hair before he comes home.  I try to change my shirt at least since I usually have spit up all over it.  But many times my husband walks in before I am expecting him.  That is always a great surprise.
  9. Meet him at the door with a kiss & another hug…if possible.  I have a hard time catching him.
  10. Cook dinners that he likes as often as you can, not just for you & the kids.  Lunch time is when I fix thing that the kids like since Scott is not there for lunch.  Dinner is for him.

These are simple, not very time consuming and can make a difference.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jesus_saves permalink
    April 26, 2008 12:50 am

    Oh Dana thank you ever so much, I needed those tips. I do the occaisonal dress up and surprises, but it is really the everyday little things that make a difference in a marriage.

  2. January 6, 2009 6:50 pm

    Aw! These are sweet!

  3. October 20, 2009 9:58 am

    I really like this article my man deserves all these things and more thank you for reminding me how good he is to me!

  4. November 11, 2009 2:02 am

    this is wonderful! i will have to do this to keep him

  5. Gofa permalink
    November 30, 2009 1:59 am

    beautiful stuff Dana..marriage made simple and enjoyable

    • December 3, 2009 10:02 pm

      Thank you Gofa,
      But please know that marriage is never simple, but should be very enjoyable. Thank you for your comment.

  6. bindy permalink
    December 15, 2010 2:19 pm

    thanks for the tips i am a newly wed woman who wants to keep the fire burning

  7. Anna Tiko permalink
    September 22, 2011 3:23 am

    i also like this, thnk alot 4 leting me know.

Leave a Reply

