Skip to content

All Natural Stress Reliever

January 25, 2007

Psalms 143:8

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you.  Show me the way to go, for to you I lift up my soul.

 

My oldest daughter is about to turn 16 in a few months.  As she grows older I see in her a true desire to please the Lord and grow in her knowledge of him.  This morning she came into the kitchen with her bible and said,”I love this verse Mom, then she read Psalms 143:8 to me.   I asked her what was it about that verse that she like so much.  She answered me, “It helps me to not feel so stressed out.”  I then asked her, what stresses her out so much?  “My friends stress me out.  They are making some really wrong decisions that they know are not good for them.  They do stuff behind their parents and then laugh about it.  I don’t understand why they are doing this. I pray for them all the time that they would stop doing this stuff & just do what their parents say.  I really do trust God so I hope he will listen to my prayers for my friends.”  I can’t tell you how that blessed me.  I wanted to cry, but then she would have rolled her eyes at me & the moment would have been gone.  Her concern for her friends is genuine and stressful to her.  Then I asked what else is stressing her out.  “Math & Science”, she answered.  “Well, what can we do to help relieve some of that stress?” I asked her.  She very quickly came back with, “Burn the books!”  We laughed because she knows that is not going to happen.  I told her that I am proud of her for loving her friends so much that they stress her out, but that she can’t change them herself.  It has to be God that changes their heart and she needs to guard her heart against their deceptive ways, continue to pray for them and trust God that he will turn their hearts in his time.

I love how my daughter is learning now that she can trust in God rather that get stressed out by circumstances beyond her control.  When she was younger I wrote Philippians 4:13 on a card and placed it beside her while she did her school work.  “I can do all things through Christ who gives me the strength I need.”(NLT)  When she would get frustrated and think that she couldn’t do it she would read that verse.  She is dyslexic & so school is a great challenge to her that she has overcome in amazing ways.  It helped and I notice sometimes that she still writes that verse on her notebooks or papers.

 You don’t wait until the “right time” to put your trust in the Lord.  I tried to wait until my children were older before I really made God part of my life.  That hurt me & my family deeply.  My heart was drastically turned toward the Lord and now I teach my children that they depend on him now while they are young, so that when they are older it is already inbedded in them to do so.  They are learning through their simple problems now that when they put their trust in him he will show them the way to go.  As their mom, I have to live what I preach.  That is not always so easy, but they are my reminder that it the only pure all natural stress reliever…trust in the Lord.

Prayer:

Lord,

Thank you for my daughter and her fresh and exciting hunger for your truth.  What a blessing she is to me.   Bless her with an unquenchable thirst for you, Father.  I pray that she will come to an even deeper understanding of you than I have.  You are to be praised!   Help me to lean on you for understanding in all circumstances and not on my self.  I need your guidance as I train my children in your ways.  I praise you that the morning can bring word of your unfailing love for me and when I put my trust in you you are faithful to show me the way to go.  To you O God, I lift up my soul and bless your name.  A~men

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

