Skip to content

He is God & I’m Not (thankgoodness)!

January 11, 2007

“For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength.”   1 Corinthians 1:25 (NIV)

Remember when you were a teenager and you thought your parents were so stupid & didn’t understand anything that you were going through? You thought you really did know more than those stone-age people called “parents” did.  They didn’t even speak the same language as you much less know how horrible your life was.  Or was that just me?

Now I am one of those stupid, stone-age, non-understanding people called a parent of a teenager.  Actually I have 3 teenagers with a few more not too far behind. But do you ever get that look?  You know, the “I can’t believe you really said that” look, or the famous “you want me to do what?” look.   I’m such a horrible parent.  I won’t let my kids do anything.  Like the other day when my son asked if he and his friends could ride the city bus to go & find a better place to skateboard.  “You just don’t get it!” he said after I  said no.

Do you ever treat God that way?  I do.  I start thinking that he just doesn’t understand my life.   Did he ever have to be married to someone who snores?  Did he ever have kids that drove him crazy?  O’K, that one is a definite yes. But did he really know how hard my life is? How selfish of me to think those things, but yet they still creep in.   They creep in when I am trying to do everything in my own strength and my own way.  I get distracted from his Truth and say things like,  “I don’t understand, God, how you could let this happen?”, instead of “Show me your wisdom and how I can glorify you in this situation.”

These are the days when I have to remind myself that I need the strength of God to get through my day, not my own.  I need His wisdom to handle the bumps and bruises in a glorifying way.     Even at my strongest, I’m not even close to where God is at his weakest.  I can never out smart him or get even close in wisdom.  That is really comforting to me.  It really confirms in my soul & mind that He does know best & does have everything under HIS control, not mine.  When I truly believe that he is stronger & wiser then I experience his joy and peace in a way that many can’t understand.  I can be at peace when I have 10 kids going 10 directions at the same time, because I know that I know that I know that he is GOD and I’m not.  Of course he has to remind me of that quite often when I try to take the reins again.  He reminds me of who he is…

 He is Joy

He is Peace

He is Wisdom

…and he loves me like no one else can.

Father, what a blessing it is to my spirit to remember that you love me and you understand me.  Your scripture is so consistant in that message.  It is truly through our weakness that you make us strong.  It is like taking a long awaited deep breath and exhaling when I can rest in you as the chaos of storms whirl around me.  Your peace in my life strenthens me and your grace and mercy humble me.  Please help me Abba Father to extend that same grace and mercy to my family.  Help me to bring peace to my home and not tension.  Guide with your widsom and direction as I nurture and train my children.  Help me to remember that you are my ONLY source of strength and wisdom. ~ A-men

j0408981.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

